Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > Buy & Sell

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-26-2017, 08:18 AM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,884
Default 002R with bad 1394

What's the best thing to do with a 002R that was working fine until the firewire went out? Is it a doorstop? Is there anyone buying, repairing, and reselling?

I used it regularly from April 2005 until about 3 weeks ago when the 1394 light stopped coming on. I replaced it with a Saffire, and wish now that I'd done it long ago. Anyway, that proves the firewire problem is on the 002R end, not the computer. I replaced the power harness in 2005, and the unit still powers up, and passes audio from ALT SRC to MON. So it's almost certainly in working condition apart from the 1394 circuit board. Seems a shame to just toss it.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Nyquist was right.

PT 2021.6 Ultimate | Omni | macOS Catalina in a Trashcan 32GB
PT 2021.6 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10 latest, HP Z440 64GB
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-27-2017, 02:04 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,124
Default Re: 002R with bad 1394

I tend to agree that its a doorstop now, but you might recover some cash by selling parts(PSU, harness, knobs, etc). I have read(somewhere on the DUC) that the FW chip is a $5 part, but it might be really tough to actually install When my 003 fried the FW chip, it was $327 to fix and required micro-soldering equipment. Not sure on the 002(but I would not spend more than $50 on the old beast
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-28-2017, 11:21 AM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,884
Default Re: 002R with bad 1394

Thanks. For sure, I will not be spending any money on it myself. I replaced it with a Saffire Pro and am now kicking myself for not having done it long ago.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Nyquist was right.

PT 2021.6 Ultimate | Omni | macOS Catalina in a Trashcan 32GB
PT 2021.6 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10 latest, HP Z440 64GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
002r Problem: Sporadic Not Recognized - 1394 off ThunderShepherd 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 03-14-2012 08:46 AM
blinking 1394 light on 002r Punch Drunk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 08-16-2010 01:13 AM
Problems 1394 light on Diggi 002r paw1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-02-2008 03:28 PM
002R firewire problem ... 1394 only on 1 sec HELP john1192 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 10-28-2007 08:43 AM
Dead 002r? 1394 light not comming on. Spyrojoe 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-16-2007 03:12 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com