Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-07-2010, 09:41 AM
sytrusze sytrusze is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 91
Default Connect MPC 5000 to mbox mini

Whatsup guys,

I've got my KRK monitors hooked up to my mbox mini. All my computer sounds are beeing played thru it. When i'am using my MPC5000 i always unplug my KRK's from the mbox and plug em into my MPC.

Can't i just connect the MPC to the Mbox mini so i don't have to keep unplugging en pluggin in my monitors? (So i can play my computer sounds AND the MPC sounds at the same time)

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-07-2010, 10:13 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Connect MPC 5000 to mbox mini

Quote:
Originally Posted by sytrusze View Post
Can't i just connect the MPC to the Mbox mini so i don't have to keep unplugging en pluggin in my monitors?
Yes. Keep the mix knob at the 12 o'clock position.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-07-2010, 12:04 PM
sytrusze sytrusze is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 91
Default Re: Connect MPC 5000 to mbox mini

Great thanks, do you know which cables should i connect where?
(my monitors are now plugged into Mon out L & R on my Mbox mini)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-07-2010, 12:17 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Connect MPC 5000 to mbox mini

Quote:
Originally Posted by sytrusze View Post
do you know which cables should i connect where?
Wow, ok...
You would connect balanced cables from the same outputs on the MPC where you would plug the speakers into, and connect them to the inputs of the MBox 2 Mini; one to the Input 1 Line/DI input, and one to Input 2 Line/DI input.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sytrusze View Post
(my monitors are now plugged into Mon out L & R on my Mbox mini)
That would stay that way.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-07-2010, 06:33 PM
sytrusze sytrusze is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 91
Default Re: Connect MPC 5000 to mbox mini

Okay great thnx man

ps. excuse my noobism
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-07-2010, 06:44 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Connect MPC 5000 to mbox mini

Quote:
Originally Posted by sytrusze View Post
Okay great thnx man

ps. excuse my noobism
It's no problem at all; I'm happy to help.

And I hope my surprise did not offend you in any way. It's just connecting devices would be something I would consider learning before a major purchase like the MPC or even Pro Tools. But maybe it's just me?

I hope that works out the way you want it to. You'll have to do some switching around if you ever want to record anything else (vocals, etc).
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-08-2010, 12:43 PM
sytrusze sytrusze is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 91
Default Re: Connect MPC 5000 to mbox mini

No problem man you helped me out so much already, appreciate that.
You're right, i actually should have some more pre-knowledge but i gues you can blame my insecurity that i always like to be sure of my case, always need someone elses approval. Same thing in this case. I assumed that it had to be done like you've explained, but i wanted it to be confirmed and you did

I know it can be a pain in the ass sometimes for the helpers to explain every step so detailed, but it saved me alot of money actually. Instead of buying all sorts of cables and than find out i bought wrong ones, now i know exactly which one i should get.

Hope you'll understand and thanks again for your help m8!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-09-2010, 08:14 AM
sytrusze sytrusze is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 91
Default Re: Connect MPC 5000 to mbox mini

I also had to switch the mic/DI on though, for the ppl who face the same problem as me.

I'm facing another issue right now, when i turn the volume up on the MPC5000 or the input 1 on my mbox the sound gets REALLY distorted. The strange thing is, i can boost the normal volume on my mbox up to max and it doesn't get distorted.

If i plug my monitors directly into my mbox, i can also boost the volume up to max without any signs of distortion.
So it has to be an issue with the DI inputs on my mbox or the cabling (at least, i think)

How come?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-09-2010, 08:30 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Connect MPC 5000 to mbox mini

To answer this question, you really need to understand a little bit about gain staging and volume.

When you crank up the volume on the MPC to the "max", you are overdriving the input on the MBox, causing distortion. When you crank up the input on the MBox, same thing.

"Max" volume on everything really isn't "best" volume. You need to keep the volume on the MPC and the inputs of the MBox to a moderate level to avoid distortion. Then use the mix knob, the output level knob, and any volume control on your speakers to maximize your listening volume.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-09-2010, 10:59 AM
sytrusze sytrusze is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 91
Default Re: Connect MPC 5000 to mbox mini

Answer couldn't be more clear it makes sense, thanks again
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I connect the outputs from my MBOX 2 MINI to my home theatre stereo amp proper towps 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 13 06-08-2016 11:30 PM
Mbox 2 Mini won't connect to my MacBook! ddj1991 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 05-05-2008 07:00 AM
How to connect midi keyboard to the Mbox2 mini kessles79 MIDI 7 12-23-2007 09:30 PM
Can i connect my 5.1 speakers system on my Mbox 2 mini? Highnocent 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-17-2007 01:15 AM
6.2.2 1.6 G5, MBox... receiving -5000 error? TxFrog1999 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-21-2003 03:03 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:12 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com