Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-15-2011, 10:43 AM
mesa3077boogie mesa3077boogie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: St. Louis Missouri
Posts: 171
Default ssl 4000 how to de ess?

Anyone know how I set up the waves SSL 4000 E channel to de ess?

Do i use 2 channel strips or one?

Whats the signal route?

I get that you can point the compressor to clamp down on the high end of the vocals but how do you actually route it?

thanks, Jordan
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-15-2011, 12:38 PM
cneal92's Avatar
cneal92 cneal92 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Lubbock, TX USA
Posts: 530
Default Re: ssl 4000 how to de ess?

I don't know if you realize, but the SSL will only do broadband de-essing, meaning the whole signal will be compressed, not just the high frequency. I use the RDeEsser (and others) for narrow-band de-essing. The C6 has some pretty cool uses too.

You can set the EQ section to be the Side Chain to the Dynamics section by engaging the Dyn S-C button on the E strip. If you also press the Split on the H/LPF section it will split those out. There is a good signal flow diagram in the Waves SSL documentation.
__________________
Chris Neal :: South Plains College
.: Program Coordinator & Asst. Professor in Sound Technology
.: cneal@southplainscollege.edu
.: Pro Tools Certified Instructor
.: Pro Tools Expert Certified in Music
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-15-2011, 02:26 PM
mesa3077boogie mesa3077boogie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: St. Louis Missouri
Posts: 171
Default Re: ssl 4000 how to de ess?

So you cant split just the high end of the signal out and then back in to channel strip to duck the sibilance? Im a bit confused.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-15-2011, 04:53 PM
cneal92's Avatar
cneal92 cneal92 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Lubbock, TX USA
Posts: 530
Default Re: ssl 4000 how to de ess?

No. On the E strip you are either putting all the EQ (H/LPF, shelves & paras) into the SC (Side Chain) path [Dyn S-C button engaged], OR [with Split & Dyn S-C engaged], the H/LPF filter the audio and the rest of the EQ is in the SC path.

With the EQ in the SC you are able to boost or cut frequencies from the audio that is feeding the compression detection circuit (this doesn't cut/boost those frequencies in the audio), this causes the compressor to respond more or less to the frequencies that are being boosted or cut.

Compressors tend to be more excited by low frequencies. So audio with a good amount of low end will cause more compression to occur than audio (at the same level) with less low end. So often an engineer might remove a little low end on the SC to make the compressor respond more evenly across frequencies.

So, if you put the EQ in the SC and dial in the EQ on your high frequency content and boost it in the SC it will cause the compressor to react more to these frequencies. However, when it compresses it will compress all the frequencies NOT just the high frequencies.

This is why I suggested using a De-Esser plug-in like the Waves Ren DeEsser or DeEsser, or the McDSP DeEsser, which will allow you to affect only the set of frequencies desired. Otherwise you have to get into some more complex setups, which would just end up confusing you more (I think).
__________________
Chris Neal :: South Plains College
.: Program Coordinator & Asst. Professor in Sound Technology
.: cneal@southplainscollege.edu
.: Pro Tools Certified Instructor
.: Pro Tools Expert Certified in Music
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-15-2011, 05:58 PM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: ssl 4000 how to de ess?

Massey De:Esser is nice
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-15-2011, 06:29 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,567
Default Re: ssl 4000 how to de ess?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PT Lover View Post
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.6.

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.3, HD Native, Focusrite Red 8Pre (Mac)
Pro Tools 2020.12, Mbox3 (Win)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UAD 2 now has SSL 4000 therecordinghouse 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-26-2009 02:03 AM
SSL 4000...WOW!!! vocalize 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 10-01-2007 06:39 AM
MPC 4000 Mikchek 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-07-2005 07:56 AM
Reverb 4000 @ 96K... Barron Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 05-08-2005 01:53 PM
MPC 4000 Timing cc1 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 03-31-2005 02:32 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:22 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com