Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-23-2021, 07:52 AM
kateltecnico kateltecnico is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Madrid, Spain
Posts: 8
Default Buying Pro Tools for macOS High Sierra.

Hello,

I want to buy an EDU PT subscription to use on my MacBook Pro with macOS 10.13.6 High Sierra to prepare my recording and mixing classes as a teacher. If I buy it right now, from the Avid webstore, would I have access to versions 2018/2019 to be able to run it on my computer? In other words, what versions would be available in my account?

Thanks in advance,

Cataldo.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-23-2021, 07:54 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,280
Default Re: Buying Pro Tools for macOS High Sierra.

In principle, your license would say "Pro Tools Perpetual" which opens 12.6 version and later, up until the RELEASE_LIMIT date on your ilok license. You may want to ask for Avid Support for confirmation, but as far as I know, you would be able to grab the version you want from Avid Download Center.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-23-2021, 08:01 AM
kateltecnico kateltecnico is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Madrid, Spain
Posts: 8
Default Re: Buying Pro Tools for macOS High Sierra.

Ok, thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-23-2021, 08:22 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 4,784
Default Re: Buying Pro Tools for macOS High Sierra.

Wait a minute!
OP writes 'subscription'. A PT subscription only gives you license to run the latest version. A perpetual license, $599, will give you the right to run v 10,11,12 and up to current. Correct me if I'm wrong.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini M1, 16GB RAM. 512GBinternal(3000MB/s),2TB(1300MB/s),2TB(350MB/s)
MacOS 11.6.8. PT 2020.12.1 (Reinstatement on hold for M3 macs and AS native PT)
Topping D50 DAC, Dynaudio BM6p, Artist Mix, SSL UC1, EuControl on iPad.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-23-2021, 05:10 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 2,744
Default Re: Buying Pro Tools for macOS High Sierra.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
Wait a minute!
OP writes 'subscription'. A PT subscription only gives you license to run the latest version. A perpetual license, $599, will give you the right to run v 10,11,12 and up to current. Correct me if I'm wrong.

Definitely correct on the subscription.

However, I don’t believe new perpetual licenses come with v10/11 anymore. I think that stopped a while back.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-24-2021, 06:08 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 19,032
Default Re: Buying Pro Tools for macOS High Sierra.

By what's mentioned above would the OP still have access to PT 2021.6? I ask that because while unsupported I've been running PT 2021.6 since it dropped on my 2012 cheesegrater under OSX 10.13.6 with no problems that I've experienced. I don't do all that much video except for personal forensic use to cleanup audio in video. And I don't run 100+ track sessions all that much either.


2021.6 wouldn't be available in her account though. Would have to go through the Avid downloads page.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-24-2021, 07:39 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,280
Default Re: Buying Pro Tools for macOS High Sierra.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
Definitely correct on the subscription.

However, I don’t believe new perpetual licenses come with v10/11 anymore. I think that stopped a while back.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Yes. New perpetual license however works from 12.6 until current version, so long as the current version is released on or before RELEASE_LIMIT date of the license (updated on support plan renewal).

Old license upgraded with this Get Current offer should retain your old licenses too.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mbox2 pro macOS High Sierra cguerrero 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 16 07-22-2020 07:13 PM
Fast Track Pro on macOS High Sierra meireles FireWire & USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 14 04-21-2020 08:02 PM
macOS High Sierra 10.13.5 - CPU overload wildcoyotesmusic Pro Tools 2018 8 10-17-2018 07:42 AM
Installation Problem on macOS High Sierra 10.13.3 yaokeji Pro Tools | First Discussion 1 06-16-2018 02:57 AM
macOS High Sierra 10.13 not yet supported Avid Technical Alerts 0 09-25-2017 12:29 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com