Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #321  
Old 04-18-2024, 09:44 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,701
Default Re: Hackintosh - Salvage your HD PCI cards - You Can Do It Too!

Quote:
Originally Posted by aaquilato View Post
... There are no new motherboards for PCIx cards ... I'm researching now about a newer build with a faster 10th gen Intel CPU, faster RAM, etc...
This motherboard has 3 PCI expansion slots https://www.newegg.com/p/N82E16813145417 and it works for 14th gen Intel and DDR5.

Perhaps a PCI expander? https://www.newegg.com/p/pl?d=PCIe+expansion+chassis
__________________
Desktop build: PT 2020.5 / Win 11 / i9-11900K @ 5.1GHz / 64GB / 4TB NVMe PCIe 4 / Gigabyte Z590 Vision D / PreSonus 2626
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 11 / i5-12500H / 16GB / 1TB NVMe / Lenovo IdeaPad 5i Pro / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Ancient/Legacy (still works!): PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI 001
Click for audio/video demo
Click for resume
Reply With Quote
  #322  
Old 04-18-2024, 09:53 AM
aaquilato's Avatar
aaquilato aaquilato is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Franklin TN
Posts: 151
Default Re: Hackintosh - Salvage your HD PCI cards - You Can Do It Too!

Quote:
Originally Posted by EGS View Post
This motherboard has 3 PCI expansion slots https://www.newegg.com/p/N82E16813145417 and it works for 14th gen Intel and DDR5.

Perhaps a PCI expander? https://www.newegg.com/p/pl?d=PCIe+expansion+chassis

Unless I'm looking at the wrong MB, this one has 3x PCIe slots, not PCIx slots.
And the most important thing when it comes to these PCIx slots is that they are "all in a row" so that can be connected with that little Digidesign ribbon cable.
__________________
AQ.

Mac OSX Mojave 10.14.6 running Pro Tools Ultimate 2023.6
Mac OSX Mojave 10.14.6 running Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.9
Black Lion modified OMNI HD w/XB clock
Multiple Black Lion modified 192 FM/XB interfaces
Mac OSX ML 10.8.4 running PT10.3.7 HD4 PCIx (TDM & Native)
Reply With Quote
  #323  
Old 04-18-2024, 10:29 AM
aaquilato's Avatar
aaquilato aaquilato is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Franklin TN
Posts: 151
Default Re: Hackintosh - Salvage your HD PCI cards - You Can Do It Too!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kristo Kotkas View Post
If you mean you are looking to build a faster native system, then you should probably check out what Apple M processor machines can do for you. We did a test to see how SoundGrid systems with DSP server compare against M processor native systems and I was surprised to see how well the SoundGrid Superrack Performer performed with Midas M32 and SoundGrid card inside of it. We could go down to 32 sample buffer on the Mac and load a lot of plugins, meaning low latency and lots of native DSP in use for live sound with just a M processor laptop.
This means a good quality sound card with fast drivers like something from RME with a M processor mac could perform well with 32 sample buffer in a DAW environment and could possibly be a valid replacement for old PT tracking systems, but since I have mine still working I am not in need to dig any deeper into this atm
Hi Kristo.
Are you talking a Hackintosh build with an Apple M chip?
Or are you saying the M processor is fast and can be used with LIVE performance to use plugins with low latency?

One has nothing to do with the other or am I missing something here?

I don't or certainly wouldn't be recording a band with plugins.
And I'm not using an X32 as my recording console although, yes, I guess you could do that and use USB to record 32 inputs.)

Recording in a purist sense of microphone choice & preamp choice to the audio interface which are Avid 192s.
That could be 24 to 32 inputs with 4 headphone mixes.
All at a buffer of 64.
Then you start overdubs. Finally you start mixing and you have to change the buffer size. No big thing really, you just make it larger.

Then you want to overdub again and you've forgotten to change the buffer back to 64, so you stop and do that. Again no big deal other than time.

TIME and impatient musicians who are losing their creative juju or vibe.

I'm trying to see if there is a faster Intel CPU with a MB that can do this all natively with the Avid HDNative card and not having to drop the buffer size down to 64 to record.
Possibly finding a happy medium.

Anyone out there find one?
__________________
AQ.

Mac OSX Mojave 10.14.6 running Pro Tools Ultimate 2023.6
Mac OSX Mojave 10.14.6 running Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.9
Black Lion modified OMNI HD w/XB clock
Multiple Black Lion modified 192 FM/XB interfaces
Mac OSX ML 10.8.4 running PT10.3.7 HD4 PCIx (TDM & Native)
Reply With Quote
  #324  
Old 04-26-2024, 12:36 PM
Kristo Kotkas Kristo Kotkas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Posts: 632
Default Re: Hackintosh - Salvage your HD PCI cards - You Can Do It Too!

Quote:
Originally Posted by aaquilato View Post
Hi Kristo.
Are you talking a Hackintosh build with an Apple M chip?
Or are you saying the M processor is fast and can be used with LIVE performance to use plugins with low latency?

One has nothing to do with the other or am I missing something here?

I don't or certainly wouldn't be recording a band with plugins.
And I'm not using an X32 as my recording console although, yes, I guess you could do that and use USB to record 32 inputs.)

Recording in a purist sense of microphone choice & preamp choice to the audio interface which are Avid 192s.
That could be 24 to 32 inputs with 4 headphone mixes.
All at a buffer of 64.
Then you start overdubs. Finally you start mixing and you have to change the buffer size. No big thing really, you just make it larger.

Then you want to overdub again and you've forgotten to change the buffer back to 64, so you stop and do that. Again no big deal other than time.

TIME and impatient musicians who are losing their creative juju or vibe.

I'm trying to see if there is a faster Intel CPU with a MB that can do this all natively with the Avid HDNative card and not having to drop the buffer size down to 64 to record.
Possibly finding a happy medium.

Anyone out there find one?
Hi, no not Hackintosh build with M processor, these computers are already running macOS anyways, I was just pointing out they are crazy fast and can handle 32 sample buffers and that is already pretty damn close to DSP performance.

But what comes to running PCI-X dsp cards with newer motherboards I am pretty sure this will not be possible as PT10HD was 32 bit software that also needed the old 32 bit OS and the PCI-X slots were needed to be "native" PCI-X meaninig they were integrated to the system some other way than PCI-X slots work on modern motherboards, even if found available.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hackintosh - Salvage your HD PCI cards - You Can Do It Too! jeremyroberts macOS 2 07-01-2016 09:32 AM
Hackintosh on my rig? Raoul23 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 7 07-01-2011 03:26 PM
Hackintosh Help HDK_Ent 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 07-16-2010 10:45 AM
Get a laptop or salvage old machine?? Punx 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-24-2008 01:28 PM
OT - Salvage a bad DAT - Possible? soundsurfr 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 08-08-2003 12:55 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:19 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com