Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-16-2008, 05:44 PM
Loudigi Loudigi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: new york, ny
Posts: 11
Default Sample rate error during playback?

Hi,

I'm running Mac OSX on a 2x3 ghz dual core intel mac.
4gb ram and PT 7.4.

I did a voice record using PT HD with a 192 i/o. Recorded at 48/24 wav. All session long the project was perfect. At the end of my session everything went haywire. I went to export some files to mp3 and the next thing I know all my audio files are playing too fast and too high pitched. I haven't figured out what's going on, but it seems like somehow, someway, the session jumped from 44/16 to 48/24 and back again, resulting in the incorrect sample rate playing everything too fast and too high pitched. What could cause this? I've never seen this before and I can't seem to fix it.

Important thing to note is that in my session setup, it's alway set to clock sources as SYNC andd clock reference as video references SD. But for some reason it just changed to Loop Sync. But why/how?

I've played with exporting at different rates to other PT sessions and OMFs and only once did things get fixed. And that is when we brought the session from an OMF to a 44.1/16bit new PT session. But it only worked once and is not repeating to fix the rest of the problem.

Any help out there?

Thanks,

Lou
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-16-2008, 06:06 PM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,677
Default Re: Sample rate error during playback?

Quote:
Hi,

I'm running Mac OSX on a 2x3 ghz dual core intel mac.
4gb ram and PT 7.4.

I did a voice record using PT HD with a 192 i/o. Recorded at 48/24 wav. All session long the project was perfect. At the end of my session everything went haywire. I went to export some files to mp3 and the next thing I know all my audio files are playing too fast and too high pitched. I haven't figured out what's going on, but it seems like somehow, someway, the session jumped from 44/16 to 48/24 and back again, resulting in the incorrect sample rate playing everything too fast and too high pitched. What could cause this? I've never seen this before and I can't seem to fix it.

Important thing to note is that in my session setup, it's alway set to clock sources as SYNC andd clock reference as video references SD. But for some reason it just changed to Loop Sync. But why/how?

I've played with exporting at different rates to other PT sessions and OMFs and only once did things get fixed. And that is when we brought the session from an OMF to a 44.1/16bit new PT session. But it only worked once and is not repeating to fix the rest of the problem.

Any help out there?

Thanks,

Lou
Hi,

Sounds like you changed your clock source during the session or turned off a device that was creating the clock and PT reverted to default etc. Any way, sounds like you've got a 44.1 file running in 48k session or the other way round.

Open a new session and use import session data! i think it now automatically converts the files to the incoming sample rate!! if not then in the import dialog page, there's a sample rate section for incoming files where you can set the source sample rate and the incoming target sample rate.


Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"The current playback engine does not support a sample rate of 48 KHz" error when tr eyeshow Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 19 09-09-2015 11:10 AM
Sample rate/playback problems with Mbox3 algerij 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-16-2011 03:48 AM
Sample rate/playback problems with Mbox3 algerij 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 01-16-2011 03:42 AM
playback sample rate ? jackp Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 05-29-2009 02:09 PM
How to change sample rate playback on HD /96i/o atpmusic Tips & Tricks 3 03-11-2005 05:54 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:19 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com