Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-06-2022, 05:27 PM
rdpar's Avatar
rdpar rdpar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Micanopy
Posts: 179
Default Going from win to Apple

I suppose I would have to buy a new pro tools to go from my windows version to apple?
__________________
Windows 10 Pro Tools 2019 Asus g752vt 17.3" laptop i7 Quad 2.6ghz 32gig ram
256ssd 1t hdd win. 10 Universal Audio x8P , Audient id22 interface. Focusrite Clarett Octopre
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-06-2022, 05:41 PM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 851
Default Re: Going from win to Apple

No the iLok license works for both Windows and Mac versions.
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-07-2022, 11:03 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,842
Default Re: Going from win to Apple

If you have PT 2019, as per your signature, make sure that is going to work with the OS X version on the Mac you plan to buy. You may need to update your Pro Tools, which, if you don't have a current Update & Support Plan, will require you to find and buy a Reinstatement or, if you can't find one, purchase a new Pro Tools license. You will also probably have to update any third party plug-ins you have and be sure they all work with OS X.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
SonoBus
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Options for Remote Direction
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-07-2022, 12:22 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 16,420
Default Re: Going from win to Apple

Go into this with your eyes open.

Yes on macOS play much more attention to Pro Tools and macOS and interface driver compatibility, this is much more of a compatibility mess than with Windows largely in part because Apple is much more aggressive about cranking on new features/systems, implementing new security technology and moving stuff over from the iOS world to macOS and just has a less backwards compatibility focus than Microsoft.

You cannot downgrade a Mac to a version of macOS that was released prior to the first version of macOS supported on that model Mac.

https://everymac.com is a great resource about mac configurations and macOS compatibility and lots of other stuff.

Almost all macs are now Apple silicon based, Pro Tools is not yet natively running on Apple silicon, it runs as Intel code under the Rosetta 2 translator. And it relies on current Intel based plugins also running under Rosetta 2. And concurrent with that and some other licensing/iLok changes some legacy plugins will not work on recent Apple silicon setups, you have to pay careful attention to plugins compatibility with macOS and Pro Tools version and in some.

Interface and other device drivers on new Apple silicon Macs *have* to be Apple Silicon native as Rosetta 2 does not work for drivers. So don't rely say on any driver compatibility claims of a macOS version support, you have to also confirm that drivers are supported on Apple silicon based systems *and* that macOS version

Once Avid releases a Apple silicon version of Pro Tools you will also likely need to move to Apple silicon versions of all plugins, which may mean having to upgrade, or some legacy plugins just not being available. You should be able to keep running Pro Tools using the intel code under Rosetta 2 if you want to, but eventually (and I expect not too slowly, guessing ~2 years from native support) I expect Avid will stop releasing Intel versions of Pro Tools on mac.

If you are running today OK on Windows, especially if you have lots of third party plugins you might want to wait out that transition of Pro Tools and plugins to Apple silicon and switch over once stuff has stabilized (over ~1 year from release???)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-07-2022, 12:27 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 4,585
Default Re: Going from win to Apple

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post
If you have PT 2019, as per your signature, make sure that is going to work with the OS X version on the Mac you plan to buy. You may need to update your Pro Tools, which, if you don't have a current Update & Support Plan, will require you to find and buy a Reinstatement or, if you can't find one, purchase a new Pro Tools license. You will also probably have to update any third party plug-ins you have and be sure they all work with OS X.

Pro Tools Operating System Compatibility Chart - avid.force.com

__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini M1, 16gb RAM. MacOS 11.6.3 Big Sur. Pro Tools 2020.12.1.191.
Olasonic DAC, Dynaudio BM6p, Artist Mix, SSL UC1, Control on iPad.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
apple-m "mute region" clash with finder apple-m "minimize" wez 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 06-12-2007 05:19 AM
any wabsite for apple accessories (international)& not apple.com sandman General Discussion 0 04-21-2001 06:46 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:33 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com