Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-01-2011, 09:20 AM
Arno Peeters's Avatar
Arno Peeters Arno Peeters is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1998
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands
Posts: 1,118
Question Import Session Data takes in unwanted audio

Here's what I did:
  • Compiled material on a separate track in Session A, so that it only has the files I need from that session, including -and that's what I'm after- I/O settings, Levels and plugin-settings.
  • Renamed track for easy relocation, saved session as 'temp', close.
  • Open Session B, Imported the aforementioned track with all options on.
And now the fun part: PT starts importing all kinds of other audio that was NOT on that track, NOT on any hidden playlist that could be recalled or was ever part of Session B.
And when I choose 'select unused', some regions sturdily remain as '
In Use' which is very definitely NOT the case.

Anyone else seeing this or able to reproduce this?
__________________
Arno Peeters
Tape TV Productions
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-01-2011, 09:49 AM
HD2 HD2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 928
Default Re: Import Session Data takes in unwanted audio

Haven't seen that issue, but did you try deleting all other tracks in session A and remove unused regions and audio files? (do a save as before that so you keep your original session intact).
I know you shouldn't have to do this but it may help you out for now.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-01-2011, 10:02 AM
Arno Peeters's Avatar
Arno Peeters Arno Peeters is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1998
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands
Posts: 1,118
Default Re: Import Session Data takes in unwanted audio

I know, that would sure it make a difference, but I'm afraid that deleting all other tracks might change the WaveCache and Fade Files, even if it was saved already... Or is that something of the past...!?

Anyways: it should not happen and it's good to find out if this is a bug.
__________________
Arno Peeters
Tape TV Productions
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-02-2011, 12:57 AM
Eric Klinger Eric Klinger is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA - USA | Mons, Belgium
Posts: 250
Default Re: Import Session Data takes in unwanted audio

If your afraid of something like that, I would save a backup of your current session folder to another disk. Then you will be free to alter this session for data importing any way you'd like. Then I would remove regions from the edit window, and select and remove (not delete) unused from the regions list - otherwise you will at least get a list of regions when you import the data to the new session... a bit annoying imo.

On another note - I agree - it seems like a bug and I wonder the same thing - but I recall reading the manual a few days ago to try and figure it out and seem to remember thinking that was by design for some strange reason - else they forgot to include that in the import options - either way, I would love also to have a way to completely ignore playlists / audio / regions on data importing.
__________________
Mac: MBP Retina 15" Quad 2.2GHz i7 / 16GB / H. Sierra / PT 2018.7 / UAD-2 9.4
PC: HP Z620 2x Octo 2.9GHz Xeon / 64GB / Win 10 Pro / PT 2019.5 / UAD-2 9.6 / Apollo Thunderbolt
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-02-2011, 02:19 AM
Arno Peeters's Avatar
Arno Peeters Arno Peeters is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1998
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands
Posts: 1,118
Default Re: Import Session Data takes in unwanted audio

Well Eric, of course there are ways to prevent this, but the main point (still) is: it's shouldn't happen.
And there is a way to import just about anything in particular: just select what you'd like to import: Regions/Playlists/Automation/Panning... So that option is already in place for quite a while now.
__________________
Arno Peeters
Tape TV Productions
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-02-2011, 04:59 PM
yeahimsteve yeahimsteve is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 32
Default Re: Import Session Data takes in unwanted audio

Hi Eric,

Is there any way that you could take a screen shot of your "import session data" window, so that we could see what it's showing you? I can say that I too have had trouble with the import session data function in PT9.

My issue had to do with it adding things it shouldn't like I/O changes, renaming I/O to strange letters that had nothing to do with either my current I/O or the I/O of the original project that I took from. Maybe I forgot to uncheck something during import? Maybe we both did?

I'm as lost as you are. The function isn't idiot proof, that's for sure, and I might need it to be. :-P
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-03-2011, 12:14 AM
Eric Klinger Eric Klinger is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA - USA | Mons, Belgium
Posts: 250
Default Re: Import Session Data takes in unwanted audio

Yes, perhaps it isn't idiot proof enough. ;-) I will certainly post it when I get to my rig later.
__________________
Mac: MBP Retina 15" Quad 2.2GHz i7 / 16GB / H. Sierra / PT 2018.7 / UAD-2 9.4
PC: HP Z620 2x Octo 2.9GHz Xeon / 64GB / Win 10 Pro / PT 2019.5 / UAD-2 9.6 / Apollo Thunderbolt
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-09-2011, 04:46 AM
Arno Peeters's Avatar
Arno Peeters Arno Peeters is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1998
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands
Posts: 1,118
Default Re: Import Session Data takes in unwanted audio

Any of the Avid-guys reading this?
It is a repeatable error for all I know....
__________________
Arno Peeters
Tape TV Productions
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-09-2011, 06:25 AM
GabriMix GabriMix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 11
Default Re: Import Session Data takes in unwanted audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arno Peeters View Post
Here's what I did:
  • Compiled material on a separate track in Session A, so that it only has the files I need from that session, including -and that's what I'm after- I/O settings, Levels and plugin-settings.
  • Renamed track for easy relocation, saved session as 'temp', close.
  • Open Session B, Imported the aforementioned track with all options on.
And now the fun part: PT starts importing all kinds of other audio that was NOT on that track, NOT on any hidden playlist that could be recalled or was ever part of Session B.
And when I choose 'select unused', some regions sturdily remain as '
In Use' which is very definitely NOT the case.

Anyone else seeing this or able to reproduce this?
I have the same problem!!!!
I recorded a soprano last week, and I imported a piano base, when I play protools I heard on left channel a hiphop groove and right channel the piano!!
I must repeated the recording many times!!!¨
I hope that avid will do a function update!!!!! today pt9 is not a good daw
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
import session data creating unwanted trim automation zakco Pro Tools 10 1 11-27-2013 02:51 PM
Import Session Data losing all my alternate takes? druck Post - Surround - Video 1 09-16-2011 02:46 AM
Import Session Data with out Audio import disinfor Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 7 11-14-2010 11:44 AM
import session data without audio data rgalpin 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 08-06-2010 01:49 PM
import 5.1 session data or audio Fritz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 02-11-2009 07:35 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:49 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com