Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-01-2006, 12:13 AM
sekie sekie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: LUXEMBOURG/Europe
Posts: 13
Default OPTICAL i/o troubles

Hi to all at DUC
Have a problem with the connection of my KORG 168RC digital console via optical cable.

Have Powerbook + DIGIRACK002, use the 168RC for 8 additional channels connected via opti-cable.

Problem: during recording all 8 channels from 168RC have from time to time a noise of a loud "knack" which even gets worse (means: gets more often) as longer I do record.

Did someone had the same problem?

Looking fwd to yr help
musical greetings from LUX
Serge
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-01-2006, 12:20 AM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: OPTICAL i/o troubles

Make sure the clock source in ProTools is set to optical and the clock settings in the Korg is set to internal and that the sample rates are set to the same thing on both as well..
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-01-2006, 12:22 AM
Mats Bengtsson Mats Bengtsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 16
Default Re: OPTICAL i/o troubles

Quote:
Hi to all at DUC
Have a problem with the connection of my KORG 168RC digital console via optical cable.

Have Powerbook + DIGIRACK002, use the 168RC for 8 additional channels connected via opti-cable.

Problem: during recording all 8 channels from 168RC have from time to time a noise of a loud "knack" which even gets worse (means: gets more often) as longer I do record.

Did someone had the same problem?

Looking fwd to yr help
musical greetings from LUX
Serge
Setup-Hardware-clock source.

Thats a very good starting point to fix your problem.
Change the clock source to ADAT and it should work.


Mats B
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-01-2006, 12:28 AM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: OPTICAL i/o troubles

oops sorry ADAT is the correct PT setting..
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-03-2006, 11:27 PM
sekie sekie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: LUXEMBOURG/Europe
Posts: 13
Default Re: OPTICAL i/o troubles

Dear ALL

Flommer thanks for yr reply BUT however this seems to not solve the problem...
When I set the Korg digital mixer to be the source, DIGIRACK switches from 44.1 to 96 but in the SETUP DIGI RACK is well set to 44.1

Could y pls once more help me to solve this problem

thanks very much
serge
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-04-2006, 10:12 AM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: OPTICAL i/o troubles

I found a manual for your 168rc on line and I can't be sure (cause I don't have time to read the whole thing!) but it looks like the mixer only outputs digital at 48khz sampling rate. Make sure the mixer's clock source is set to "internal".


Set ProTools like this:

In Setup -> Hardware

In the "Digital Input" section at the top, choose Optical = ADAT

and for the "Clock Source" choose "ADAT"

If you can change the sample rate, set it to 48khz. You might not be able to if PT automatically sets the sample rate based on what it is receiving at the port.

One final thing I'm not sure about is that you may have to have your session created at 48khz as well. I think you should also create the session at 24 bit, because the digital out on your korg is 18 bit and at 16 bit it might get chopped off.

here's the manual in case you don't have it:

manual


Give it a try...
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-05-2006, 11:42 PM
sekie sekie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: LUXEMBOURG/Europe
Posts: 13
Default Re: OPTICAL i/o troubles

Hi Flommer,
Thanks for yr add advice!
B U T unfortunately it is NOT working ... getting frustrated right now
Opened a new session, set it to 48kHz but as soon as I want to change to ADAT in the PT section
I get an error message saying external clock source not correct???

Korg Mixer is set to internal

Exchanged cables, so this can't be the problem

anyone with a solution ???

thanks for yr help
Serge
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-06-2006, 07:44 AM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: OPTICAL i/o troubles

I don't have the Korg mixer that you are trying to use but I do use an Alesis QSR that I have connected to the ADAT port and it works with the settings I mentioned, with no clicks or funny behavior. I did get the same error in a test session when the sample rate in PT was set to 48 and the QSR was set to 44.1 (I keep my sessions at 44.1) but I changed the QSR to 48, reset ProTools to follow the external sync again and all was OK. I would suggest reading the manual for your korg carefully to make sure what sample rates it will support when it is set to sync internally. If that doesn't help then I am out of suggestions... Sorry

(Now I need to set everything back to 44.1 before I forget )
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-07-2006, 04:50 AM
sekie sekie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: LUXEMBOURG/Europe
Posts: 13
Default Re: OPTICAL i/o troubles

Hi

did try this already but again this did not solve the probleme

Think the Korg is of no use anymore ...

serge
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
003 and Digimax, lightpipe optical troubles!! (HELP!) hw2nw 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 12-17-2007 09:01 AM
Clock Issue on 192 i/o Optical [ADAT] Not Optical [Encl] Willard Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 10-10-2007 01:23 PM
Troubles with changing SPDIF to optical :-(( ISedlacek 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 11-15-2003 12:22 PM
192 : MUST select Optical format for Bay 3 to activate Enclosure Optical inputs????? el biciclista Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 07-09-2002 10:32 AM
whats the difference between adat optical and spdif optical? Vegadark 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 04-07-2002 07:42 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:24 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com