Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-23-2004, 05:57 PM
Kitch Kitch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 60
Default Mix / HD Recording with Apogee Rosetta 800

If you were to record a track with the following setup which would sound better.

1) Rosetta 800 plugged directly into Mix Core Via 1 X-Digi-Mix Card

or

2) Rosetta 800 plugged directly into HD1 Core Card Via X-HDCard

Please discard answers involving how great HD and ADC ect as I would love an HD System but it is a bit pricey for me at present.

Keep the replys coming.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-24-2004, 02:44 AM
thin ice thin ice is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 812
Default Re: Mix / HD Recording with Apogee Rosetta 800

Kitch. I'm not sure what difference there would be, but I am very happy with my 800. It goes into a mix system via a 24bit ADAT bridge for now, although I will get the direct connect thing soon. Also added a Big Ben recently which really did make a noticeable difference. I would also love HD accel, but I will have to wait for a bit. I can still adjust manually for delays in the session either by nudging multi mic'ed sources or time adjuster. I'm not sure that I've ever noticed a bass player being within 50 samples of total accuracy, so I'll not worry about single sources!
__________________
Mac Mini M1 16 GB
OS 12.4
PT 2021.12.0

Mac Pro Quad Core
OS 10.8
PT9HD
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-24-2004, 07:01 PM
primo99 primo99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 116
Default Re: Mix / HD Recording with Apogee Rosetta 800

hey there buddy just wondering, how does the 800 sound? are the converters better then the Digi 192 HD. Because apogee said that the a/d in the rosetta 200 which is soon to come out are the same as the 800, and I was thinking about getting it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-24-2004, 11:35 PM
mikeoxbig mikeoxbig is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Hollywood, CA, USA
Posts: 291
Default Re: Mix / HD Recording with Apogee Rosetta 800

I have an Apogee X-Digi Mix card for sale. I'm also including a Digi PCI interface cable. Asking $500.

With a Rosetta 800, the quality is the same between Mix and HD at 44.1 and 48k, but with HD you can do up to 192khz and the mix bus is higher resolution.

I love my Rosetta 800. It sounds awesome. I'm only selling the X-Digi Mix card cause I'm doing the Mix-HD upgrade and now will need the X-Digi HD card.

Mike
(310)659-6955 home
(949)463-0903 mobile
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-25-2004, 02:16 AM
thin ice thin ice is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 812
Default Re: Mix / HD Recording with Apogee Rosetta 800

I'm not sure how the 192 and the 800 compare because I am still on a mix system. All I can say is the 800 really surprised me at how much difference it made to my chain. Even the internal clocking of the Rosetta is better than most, with a lot of stability. One thing though, I'm not sure the 200 is that much cheaper than the 800, unless you only want 2 channels. You will not be disappointed with the converters whichever model you go for.
__________________
Mac Mini M1 16 GB
OS 12.4
PT 2021.12.0

Mac Pro Quad Core
OS 10.8
PT9HD
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-25-2004, 12:48 PM
primo99 primo99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 116
Default Re: Mix / HD Recording with Apogee Rosetta 800

since the rosetta 800 has the same converters as the 200 (the guy at apogee told me) only that the 200 is two channels, do you think the 800 sounds better then DIGIS 192 HD converter or do they compete at the same level
Thanks
I was thinking of getting this setup what do you think

- rode nt1
- Rnp mic preamp (or if you can recommend a better 2 channel pre)
- apogee rosetta 200
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-26-2004, 01:37 PM
primo99 primo99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 116
Default Re: Mix / HD Recording with Apogee Rosetta 800

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-26-2004, 03:29 PM
RobMacki RobMacki is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Jefferson State, USA
Posts: 2,968
Default Re: Mix / HD Recording with Apogee Rosetta 800

Quote:
(or if you can recommend a better 2 channel pre)

Do a search on DUC and here.
It is just going to depend on budget, style, and your ears.

Q: "How many pres does it take to satisfy an AE?"
A: Just one more.


FWIW I think the 428 is a great bang for the buck. Sounds good too.
I'm not sure but I think this may be next on the list. Maybe this combo
or maybe this.
Who knows. Or maybe even this.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apogee Rosetta 200 (MINT), Lynx AES16e-SRC, Apogee Duet, BBE 882i, OFFERS ENTERTAINED jrhager84 Buy & Sell 5 03-11-2013 01:25 AM
Recording directly in from Apogee Rosetta 200 via Optical? theaor macOS 2 03-10-2012 12:31 PM
96 I/O - Apogee rosetta 800 it does not ninoboyrec@hotmail.com Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 08-27-2011 07:38 PM
Apogee Rosetta 48 vs. RME ADI 8 Pro michaux 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 02-02-2003 12:02 AM
apogee rosetta Chompers 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 12-13-2001 12:43 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com