Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-07-2011, 12:59 AM
n8mee n8mee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Denver
Posts: 2
Unhappy trouble upgrading 9 to 10 on new mac

hello-

i just purchased a new 2.7 GHz intel core i5 iMac running version 10.7.2 and pro tools 9 with an mbox mini to set up recording at my home. i didn't realize at the time that pro tools 9 wasn't compatible with the Lion (10.7) but was assured that i would be able to upgrade to 10 for free since i bought it after a certain date.

i downloaded the disk image named "pro_tools_10_installer_73451.dmg" from the avid website (along with a virtual instruments disk image that mounted and worked just fine) and when i try to mount it a "warning" window pops up and it says "the following disk images couldn't be opened

Image Reason
Pro_Tools_10_installer not recognized

i have no idea why it won't recognize the disk image because it recognized the other one that i got from the same site at the same time. also, i received a one time only access code to upgrade from pro tools 9 to 10, so I can't try to just re-download it.

if anyone has any advice or ideas i would GREATLY appreciate it. i am at a loss here.

thank you.
nate
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-07-2011, 02:42 AM
danander11 danander11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 4,014
Default Re: trouble upgrading 9 to 10 on new mac

Quote:
Originally Posted by n8mee View Post
hello-

i just purchased a new 2.7 GHz intel core i5 iMac running version 10.7.2 and pro tools 9 with an mbox mini to set up recording at my home. i didn't realize at the time that pro tools 9 wasn't compatible with the Lion (10.7) but was assured that i would be able to upgrade to 10 for free since i bought it after a certain date.

i downloaded the disk image named "pro_tools_10_installer_73451.dmg" from the avid website (along with a virtual instruments disk image that mounted and worked just fine) and when i try to mount it a "warning" window pops up and it says "the following disk images couldn't be opened

Image Reason
Pro_Tools_10_installer not recognized

i have no idea why it won't recognize the disk image because it recognized the other one that i got from the same site at the same time. also, i received a one time only access code to upgrade from pro tools 9 to 10, so I can't try to just re-download it.

if anyone has any advice or ideas i would GREATLY appreciate it. i am at a loss here.

thank you.
nate
I'll take a stab and suggest that you re-D/L the installer again and try once more.. Sometimes funny things can happen and the installers get a bit wonky...

If your bandwidth allows, give it a go..
__________________
Here I am,
after time not long...
and thankful for the break,
What I found when I got there,
was that I couldn't stay away!

Hobo Shave!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-07-2011, 02:53 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,806
Default Re: trouble upgrading 9 to 10 on new mac

Quote:
Originally Posted by n8mee View Post
Image Reason
Pro_Tools_10_installer not recognized

i have no idea why it won't recognize the disk image because it recognized the other one that i got from the same site at the same time. also, i received a one time only access code to upgrade from pro tools 9 to 10, so I can't try to just re-download it.

if anyone has any advice or ideas i would GREATLY appreciate it. i am at a loss here.

thank you.
nate

Hi Nate,


Sorry to hear about your troubles. I suspect some Lion issues. I have personally witnessed a very similar issue where I had to download it 3 times before it worked on OS Lion.

Can you check the size of the downloaded file please. Even though he download manager will indicate the file was downloaded 100% you may notice that the file size is not correct according to what the DL manager indicates.

Under investigation. Suspected OS issue.

Thanks
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-07-2011, 08:32 AM
n8mee n8mee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Denver
Posts: 2
Default Re: trouble upgrading 9 to 10 on new mac

thanks @danander11 and @digitechsupt!

i am now re-downloading the .dmg file again from the avid website using their download manager thing.

@digitechsupt re: file size- Avid lists the Pro Tools 10 Installer (mac) file size at 2156.81mb- however, i only had 1.04gb downloaded when it said that the file had finished downloading. this sounds like what you were talking about and I'm pretty sure is the issue.

like i said- i am downloading the entire .dmg file again and will let you guys know the status.

thanks again for your replies and help!
nate
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trouble upgrading help djmichael.london 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 02-16-2011 04:11 PM
Hi. Has anyone had trouble getting Reason 4 to recognize the 003 Rack after upgrading zbeats 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 18 05-12-2010 04:19 PM
Trouble upgrading from 7.0 to 7.4 Chuck1073 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 14 03-01-2010 09:49 AM
Trouble upgrading to LE 8 decayd 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 07-16-2009 09:18 PM
Trouble upgrading to XP gleiter 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 08-11-2005 10:19 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com