Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-26-2010, 06:43 AM
Chuck1073 Chuck1073 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: No. Stonington, CT USA
Posts: 152
Default Trouble upgrading from 7.0 to 7.4

I'm on Windows XP SP3 with an Mbox 2 and have been running 7.0 without a hitch for a long time now. Just got 7.4 yesterday. After removing 7.0 with drivers and all via the "add remove programs" utility in Windows I installed 7.4. No hitch during the install process but, when I try to launch I only get as far as an "hourglass" for a few seconds....then nothing.

Ended up removing 7.4 and going back to 7.0 until I have more free time to monkey with it. 7.0 is running fine at this time.

Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-26-2010, 06:58 AM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: Trouble upgrading from 7.0 to 7.4

Is it stopping on a particular plug &/or do u have IE8?
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-26-2010, 07:03 AM
Chuck1073 Chuck1073 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: No. Stonington, CT USA
Posts: 152
Default Re: Trouble upgrading from 7.0 to 7.4

Never even gets to the launch/splash screen. I do have IE8..is that the rub?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-26-2010, 07:14 AM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: Trouble upgrading from 7.0 to 7.4

Yeahppp...
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-26-2010, 07:17 AM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: Trouble upgrading from 7.0 to 7.4

LOOK
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-26-2010, 07:32 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,072
Default Re: Trouble upgrading from 7.0 to 7.4

Had the same issue a while back on a friend's machine. I think it may have been due to the AMD dual core processor. Is that what you have?
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-26-2010, 07:36 AM
Chuck1073 Chuck1073 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: No. Stonington, CT USA
Posts: 152
Default Re: Trouble upgrading from 7.0 to 7.4

I have AMD...but it's an older 64/1800+.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-26-2010, 07:37 AM
Chuck1073 Chuck1073 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: No. Stonington, CT USA
Posts: 152
Default Re: Trouble upgrading from 7.0 to 7.4

What's also interesting is that 7.0 is running just fine now after a reinstall with IE8 still on the machine.

Is this something unique to PT 7.4?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-26-2010, 08:01 AM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: Trouble upgrading from 7.0 to 7.4

Well I don't have an answer for the AMD thing so I'm sure Albee'sure can maybe help out there, but yes, .4 is different from 7.0 in regard to Elastic Audio & a few others (I can't remember now) but mainly EA...
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-26-2010, 10:09 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,072
Default Re: Trouble upgrading from 7.0 to 7.4

I got tired of messing with it and went back to PT7 on that system. Since he is way behind me in editing, he is fine with the older version. Maybe it needed the Dual Core Hotfix (google search that to download it). In any case, I would clone your working setup to a spare drive so you can easily revert if you get no love with the hotfix.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
trouble upgrading 9 to 10 on new mac n8mee macOS 3 11-07-2011 08:32 AM
Trouble upgrading help djmichael.london 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 02-16-2011 04:11 PM
Hi. Has anyone had trouble getting Reason 4 to recognize the 003 Rack after upgrading zbeats 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 18 05-12-2010 04:19 PM
Trouble upgrading to LE 8 decayd 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 07-16-2009 09:18 PM
Trouble upgrading to XP gleiter 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 08-11-2005 10:19 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:33 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com