Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-05-2010, 08:39 AM
NoiseRoom's Avatar
NoiseRoom NoiseRoom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Davis, CA
Posts: 148
Default USB or Power Supply for midi contoller?

I was just wondering if there was any benefit to using a power supply for my keyboards compared to powering it from the usb? Is there any performance slow downs to using the usb? I'm running from a Mac Pro.

Thanks
__________________
-----
Noise Room
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-05-2010, 09:49 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 19,137
Default Re: USB or Power Supply for midi contoller?

Quote:
Originally Posted by OnlineRock View Post
I was just wondering if there was any benefit to using a power supply for my keyboards compared to powering it from the usb? Is there any performance slow downs to using the usb? I'm running from a Mac Pro.

Thanks
Depends on how much power the keyboard draws and from which USB port on the Mac you hook up to. I understand that not all the ports can supply the same power.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-05-2010, 10:06 AM
SixChurchStreet SixChurchStreet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New City, NY
Posts: 1,299
Default

I think for the most part, any particular unit will either work using only bus power, or it won't. For example, my Korg padKontrol works fine on USB power, but also uses a power supply, which I never use. There's no performance difference using it with the power supply. But if I were to use it on an unpowered hub, or a powered hub with too many devices sucking power from it, I'd use the power supply.


- Sent using Tapatalk.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 2.4GHz 8-Core 16GB RAM High Sierra | Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 Mk2 | Pro Tools 2020 | Studio One 4
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power supply for Midi I/O?? Armando Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 01-08-2014 03:03 AM
Would this UPS (Uninterrupted Power Supply) protect and power my gear? D_Japan macOS 4 07-24-2011 04:23 PM
O2R as a MIDI contoller for PT 6.9.2? stinkhorn Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 10-31-2005 04:10 AM
Which power supply for MIDI I/O? flymax Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-12-2004 01:32 PM
MIDI BOXES....What no power supply..an $$ option Seller Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 09-05-2002 12:41 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:35 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com