Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-09-2007, 09:29 AM
f18mech f18mech is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 37
Default Pentium 4 or AMD processor?

Which is better to run Pro Tools, AMD or Pentium 4? I have a P4 but I need some feedback on which is actually better in case I upgrade later...thanks.

John
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-09-2007, 05:13 PM
f18mech f18mech is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 37
Default Re: Pentium 4 or AMD processor?

I see nobody seems to know about this - I'll rephrase the question - what kind of processor are you using?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-09-2007, 08:25 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,873
Default Re: Pentium 4 or AMD processor?

I had okay luck with a 2.53 ghz P4 as long as I didn't try to run too many RTAS plugins (Antares Auto-tune was the real resource hog) but it's much smoother with a Pentium D (even though it's considered obsolete now, it's still better than the P4). Can't vouch for the AMD, never tried one.
Hope this helps. But if you're building a new system there aren't many P4 choices left. I just did a Core 2 Duo for a customer and have a serious case of PC envy.....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-09-2007, 10:29 PM
vocalvoodoo's Avatar
vocalvoodoo vocalvoodoo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Posts: 1,478
Default Re: Pentium 4 or AMD processor?

I went from a Pentium 4 2.4ghz to an older socket 754 AMD 3700+, and the AMD smoked the P4 by leaps and bounds! I still have the p4 as a backup rig, and can't believe I got any work done on it! LOL

I guess you get used to whatever you have no matter how fast it is. I'm partial to the Core 2 Duos. The new AMD 6000+ (AMD's latest offering) is about on par if not a little faster than the Core 2 Duo e6600 according to benchmarks and is about $70 cheaper at Newegg.com. We're talking a decent amount of power at a VERY fair price point. I just ordered the Core2Duo e6600, ASrock mobo and 2gigs of OCZ 667 ram for right around $500. Pretty damn cheap considering the power, especially compared to my AMD 3700+. Not to mention the e6600 overclocks pretty well without having to do a bunch of computer guru shenanigans to get a stable overclock.

If I had to pick between the 2, I'd go for the Core2Duo. (because I just bought one and I have to put my money where my mouth is. LOL) My reasons are, the Intel runs cooler which means it will be quieter and that is very important to me since my tracking room and mixing room are the same and that's where my computer lives, and the AMD 6000+ is old technology pushed to the limit.

To answer your question as to which is better? Well, I don't think either because as soon as one comes out with something that beats the other, the other comes back with a better solution, and that vicious cycle NEVER ends. BUT, right now at this moment, I think the Core2Duo is the best choice based on the research I've been doing the past few days, which led me to ordering the Intel over the AMD 6000+. Word on the street though is that the new AMD chip which will be released soon will stomp crotch all over Intel. Time will tell, and I'm sure it will Just make sure wither way you go, you get a mobo that will support the next generation of processors if future ugrades are a factor. The el cheapo board I just bought will take an Intel Quad if I ever decide to get one once they are cheaper.

Another solution is to start a quad from the quad thread. Just get the mobo and 1 processor, and upgrade to the second later if $$$ is an issue. Plus, the Quadzilla should be upgradable in the future. (as should the latest Intels and AMD's)

In the end, I'd say do some Googling and research each companies offerings. Tomshardware.com is a good place to start.

Check out the quad thread and the Core2Duo thread. The Intels are getting very respectable performance compared to the quad.

Core2Duo Thread

Quad Thread

In closing, I must say that what I wrote is only based on what I've read. I haven't used the latest AMD or Intel processors. My Core2Duo was just ordered and hasn't arrived yet.

Best of luck.

Oh, one more thing, later this month we're going to see another big price slash in processors. The now $300 C2D e6600 will drop to just over $200 on April 22nd as Intel adds a few more players to the e6xxx line. One can asuume that AMD will follow suite. But AMD may have already slashed. I could have sworn the AMD X2 6000+ was $300 over the weekend and now is around $240. I may be wrong on that though.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
intel core 2 duo vs pentium d and pentium 4 chips djdevelop 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 11-08-2006 01:34 PM
Dual Core Chips - Pentium D Processor 945P Chipset yarrick19 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 05-30-2005 05:59 PM
intel pentium 4 processor 530 chipset 915 g elias40 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 10-05-2004 11:32 AM
gateway 500 gr pentium 4 processor 530 with elias40 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 10-02-2004 10:51 AM
new centrino pentium-m processor icit 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 39 05-29-2003 09:38 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:29 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com