Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-30-2005, 07:01 AM
MorganPost MorganPost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 243
Default Continued Support for TDM Systems

I'm currently looking at purchasing either a couple of TDM systems or the HD systems. My concern is purchasing the second hand TDM systems and how much longer Digi will be supporting these systems as they are no longer being made.

Have there been any press releases from Digi regarding this issue?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-30-2005, 07:11 AM
mixer mixer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Parrish fl. usa
Posts: 723
Default Re: Continued Support for TDM Systems

if you don't want to upgrade to the latest and greatest software they will work.but they have already started moving on from the old mix system..hd is still a great option..cheaper than accel and uses the same core card...so my guess is it will be fine for quite some time..but i would ask digi about support before purchasing any used equipment from anyone and make sure it's legitimate.
__________________
www.garyvandy.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-30-2005, 11:12 AM
tech_head tech_head is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Hayward, Ca.
Posts: 274
Default Re: Continued Support for TDM Systems

Hi,

I would stay away from any non-HD system.
Only HD development is continuing.
The last version of sogtware that supports legacy TDM is 6.4?
Anyway the TDM chip for legacy and HD are different and so are the DSPs.

Go HD or HD Accel.

tech
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-30-2005, 11:41 AM
roberts roberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Toronto, Ont
Posts: 2,438
Default Re: Continued Support for TDM Systems

Quote:
I'm currently looking at purchasing either a couple of TDM systems or the HD systems. My concern is purchasing the second hand TDM systems and how much longer Digi will be supporting these systems as they are no longer being made.

Have there been any press releases from Digi regarding this issue?
Digidesign in June 2004 offically stopped development of Mix Systems, and continue to offer trade ins on HD systems.
There was a Press Release as well it was it the News Section on this Web Site.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-30-2005, 11:42 AM
emf1138 emf1138 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 532
Default Re: Continued Support for TDM Systems

Definitely go for HD, if you can. 6.4.1 for MIX is nowhere near as solid and stable as 6.4 or 6.9.x (my apologies to 7.0, even though I love using it )
__________________
Eric Freeman, CAS
Sound Supervisor/Re-Recording Mixer
Disney TV Animation
IMDB
LinkedIn
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mix Era Hardware Support - Continued or Not?? Table Syrup Records Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 03-15-2010 02:21 PM
what systems support SD2? gigs 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 02-28-2006 03:38 AM
Continued Support for TDM Systems MorganPost Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 11-30-2005 07:45 AM
Support for TDM systems NWstudios Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 03-17-2002 12:33 PM
OS X support for non HD systems mstucker Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 01-18-2002 09:01 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:14 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com