Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > ProControl, Control|24, Command|8

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-12-2020, 12:59 AM
moonwalker2 moonwalker2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 181
Default Control 24 as an analog mixer?

Hey guys!
I'm a new user of the Control24, and I bought it simply as a big mouse for pro tools using the Neyrinck V-Control software) and a metering unit.

Now I got an idea, since it has some inputs and outputs in the back, am I still able to use them in any way even though i am running the latest versions of pro tools and not using this as my soundcard? (I'd still prefer to use my apollo)

Any setup tips?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-12-2020, 01:14 AM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,482
Default Re: Control 24 as an analog mixer?

You can't run the Control 24 as a sound card, it has no interface capability whatsoever. Nor can you use it as a mixer because it has no capability as a standalone mixer. You can use the preamps and the monitoring control section since all of that stuff is analog, bu you still need a decent enough interface to make it worthwhile to patch it all in and use it.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.6.

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.3, HD Native, Focusrite Red 8Pre (Mac)
Pro Tools 2020.12, Mbox3 (Win)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-12-2020, 01:32 AM
moonwalker2 moonwalker2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 181
Default Re: Control 24 as an analog mixer?

Thank you for your reply Top Jimmy! That's what I meant, I would like to know what options I have with the analog parts. I have an Apollo x8 soundcard and a patchbay.

For example, could I wire in 4 hardware synths into the Control24 and route the control24 outputs into the apollo? would there be any special setup needed to be done?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-12-2020, 01:39 AM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,482
Default Re: Control 24 as an analog mixer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by moonwalker2 View Post
For example, could I wire in 4 hardware synths into the Control24 and route the control24 outputs into the apollo? would there be any special setup needed to be done?
What’s the point of doing that when you can just plug the synths straight into the Apollo? That’s just pointless redundancy unless you need more than 8 inputs at a time. Not to mention the preamps on the Control 24 are nothing to boast about.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.6.

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.3, HD Native, Focusrite Red 8Pre (Mac)
Pro Tools 2020.12, Mbox3 (Win)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-12-2020, 01:49 AM
moonwalker2 moonwalker2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 181
Default Re: Control 24 as an analog mixer?

yes, i've heard that the preamps are not the best... However, my apollo sits in a rack thats not very accesible, and I like to have all my gear plugged in, ready to go. that's why I thought about using the inputs on the Control24.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-12-2020, 03:25 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,545
Default Re: Control 24 as an analog mixer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by moonwalker2 View Post
yes, i've heard that the preamps are not the best... However, my apollo sits in a rack thats not very accesible, and I like to have all my gear plugged in, ready to go. that's why I thought about using the inputs on the Control24.
Knowing more details might turn up other options. What do you want to have connected all the time, and what inputs are available on the Apollo? As said, the Control24 preamps are not special(pretty much the same as the original Mbox), and it can't actually "mix" them. Some ideas to think about: If everything connects via XLR, a simple XLR panel(HOSA makes one with 12 XLR's front and rear). If you have a bunch of keyboards and sound modules, route to a small desktop mixer and send a stereo mix to the Apollo. Another thought would be to change your setup so the Apollo is close at hand with a small rack to one side of the desk There's gotta be several ways to skin this cat
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-13-2020, 04:06 AM
moonwalker2 moonwalker2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 181
Default Re: Control 24 as an analog mixer?

Thanks for your reply albee1952! I wanted to connect my behringer RD-8 drum machine which has 12 different outputs, as well as some keyboard synths. most of the apollo ins and outs are used for hardware inserts such as eq and compressors.

So there are no mix options available through the control24 such as solo/mute, level adjustment etc (in tandem with the controller mode)? I read something about the line submixer in the manual, but couldn't really figure out if it's doing what i need lol =)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-13-2020, 09:54 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,931
Default Re: Control 24 as an analog mixer?

What? All this to get discreet outputs from a 808 clone? And you just want to mix them down in the Control 24... that makes little sense... the RD-8 has a mixer internally. And all those discrete unbalanced outputs, ugh good luck running them any distance, or avoiding ground loops even with short cables.

You are trying to skin a cat by reversing over it with a steam roller.

Just use a drum machine/sampler plugin... so many to choose from, many with multi channel outputs if that is what you want, or others that you can fake that out with plugin instances on separate tracks. If you want a tactile control many of those are available as MIDI control surfaces... or just record the MIDI out of the RD-8 itself.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-13-2020, 11:50 AM
moonwalker2 moonwalker2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 181
Default Re: Control 24 as an analog mixer?

Thank you for your reply Darryl Ramm!

I personally haven't found a plugin version of the 808 that I like better than real analog, either in modeling or in samples so I would rather stay with the RD-8 which I'm quite happy with =)

It seems that everyone really hates the thought of a person just trying out the signal routing available in the Control24 lol! I hear you, and even though I have owned a mbox back in the day (it didn't sound like money i agree) but they where still ok enough to record with.

I'll guess i'm on my own here and simply have to try it out through trial and error =)
(If someone still has some tips or pointers on how to route stuff and what is possible the the inputs and outputs in this desk, feel free to contribute!)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-13-2020, 11:57 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,931
Default Re: Control 24 as an analog mixer?

Maybe a better question then might be what drum machine/sample/synth VIs people recommend to do what you want/sound like the RD-8? Or maybe pick popular music tht you like the beats on and try to have folks guess what VI produced or could produce that... out of my depth there, but there are smart folks here.

Moving this ITB also lets you work untethered/away from hardware, which to me is a big thing.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Eucon control over M-Audio Profire DSP Mixer/Focusrite DSP Mixer? finkbmx Artist Series 1 12-26-2010 12:11 AM
analog mixer + control surface = digital mixer? j20056 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 10-11-2006 05:12 AM
I Need an analog Mixer. Big Koo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 17 08-23-2004 05:07 PM
Best analog mixer SummerOverture Tips & Tricks 7 12-27-2002 10:08 AM
using analog mixer?? carbomb 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 12-12-2001 08:43 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:31 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com