Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-03-2021, 04:39 AM
PhiltheGreek1 PhiltheGreek1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2021
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 8
Default PT12HD software & summing amp

Hi
I’m using PTs 12.5 HD software (no HW) with Symphony Mk1 via USB running on a Mac 5,1 12 core.

I’m running the outputs to a summing amp and I often mult aux outputs to different outputs (either by + the same aux or duplicating) and monitor back in PTs.

I’m afraid I’m going crazy but I often notice phasey issues and my mixes fall apart. It happens with more plugins on but not an obscene amount - and the system usage is ok.
Are there any suggestions to check on things if this happens?

Does anyone else still use PThd 12 no HW and soundcard via USB?
It never felt stable to me I just don’t trust it.
The other pitfall I wasn’t aware of when not buying into HDX (for latency and security reasons), was that I lost side chain compensation - i used this a lot to blend and mix parts together on my old TDM system it worked great - but I was unaware for years that it wasn’t working after losing that system..

Cheers,
P.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-03-2021, 05:28 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,270
Default Re: PT12HD software & summing amp

Hi, welcome to the community.

Phasing has nothing to do with how interface is connected. Try to find the culprit elsewhere.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-03-2021, 09:12 AM
PhiltheGreek1 PhiltheGreek1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2021
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 8
Default Re: PT12HD software & summing amp

Thank you for your welcome and advice.
I’m thinking a complete reinstall with no third party plugins and do some test mixes and go from there.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-03-2021, 09:26 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,270
Default Re: PT12HD software & summing amp

Good idea. Compatibility info here.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-03-2021, 09:47 AM
PhiltheGreek1 PhiltheGreek1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2021
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 8
Default Re: PT12HD software & summing amp

Thanks again :)
I want to ask, other than the obvious, like no 0 latency monitoring or differences in I/Os, no dsp powered plugins; what are people’s realistic experiences regarding the pitfalls of working on Pro Tools 12HD software no hardware.
I mean, the s/c delay comp issue came as a surprise and would have been enough to make me get the HDX card (when I could have afforded it). I’d love to know if there is anything else to be wary of.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-03-2021, 09:57 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,270
Default Re: PT12HD software & summing amp

Without Avid hardware you are limited to 32 i/o
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-03-2021, 01:22 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,710
Default Re: PT12HD software & summing amp

One question, is EVERYTHING being routed thru the summing amp, or only some tracks? If its not all tracks, that's likely the issue
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-04-2021, 03:45 AM
PhiltheGreek1 PhiltheGreek1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2021
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 8
Default Re: PT12HD software & summing amp

Hi
Thanks! haha yes everything goes through the summing or that would certainly be a phase problem

I duplicate/mult aux outs from PTs often - either by +outputs on the same or having 2 with identical plugs on - I feel the problem may lie here somewhere.

P.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pt12hd spaceman Buy & Sell 4 12-09-2016 10:18 AM
Upgrade PT12HD mastertstudio Licensing & Accounts 2 03-03-2016 12:33 AM
Upgrading to PT12HD...now what YYR123 Pro Tools 12 4 09-19-2015 06:32 PM
pro tools summing or digital board summing kingz Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 04-29-2004 12:46 AM
D8B Summing vs. Pro Tools Summing Sound Guy Andy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 03-08-2002 04:04 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:26 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com