Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-09-2020, 07:32 AM
Happy_Kyne's Avatar
Happy_Kyne Happy_Kyne is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 31
Default Oldest running version of Pro Tool in the world?

Hi, Mark Jeffery here. I began development of Pro Edit (half of Pro Tools 1.0) 30 years ago and I am feeling a little nostalgic. I am curious if anyone has an old mac that still runs any older versions of Pro Tools. I mean 90’s era Pro Tools. Pro Tool 2 or 3 or 4. If you can I would LOVE to see a couple screen shots. Particularly one of the “about box”. I forget what version it was, but I created the about box to work with 3D glasses at one point. Thanks, for any help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-09-2020, 09:09 AM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,424
Default Re: Oldest running version of Pro Tool in the world?

The Macs that could run PT-1 had massive cold solder joint issues. We were thrilled when Apple started allowing third-party hardware and started thinking seriously about windoze after Jobs returned and halted it.
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-10-2020, 01:57 AM
elicious elicious is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,384
Default Re: Oldest running version of Pro Tool in the world?

Hi Mark, nice to see you around these parts once again.
Used to run Sound Tools around here, for mastering.
(Can't recall which ver.)
Will dig around and see if there's any JPEG's we might have sent to clients back in the day, but I'll get on it.

While we have you here for a moment;
curious if one of us can trade you, for any info/updates on the whole X form/EA kerfuffle.
(Sorry for the hijack…!)
e
for the record studios
__________________
ihatetyping
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-12-2020, 12:54 AM
mightyduck mightyduck is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: los angeles united states
Posts: 457
Default Re: Oldest running version of Pro Tool in the world?

Ha, I may have something for ya.

I have, let's see.........hmmmm.............an original unmolested SoundDesigner for S900 package, with all the goodies. Pre ProTools! I'm pretty sure I still have the S900 somewhere, too.

An original Digidesign Masterlist CD package [mint condition, I might add]

An old Nubus system running on some kind of ancient Mac [I also have an original Expansion Chassis for it], I forget what version of PT is on it but I have recently been unpacking all this stuff from storage, so I will sooner or later fire it up. Its main function has been to run a bunch of Lexicon Nuverb cards that I had incorporated into my wacky rig. I use a beautiful and also unmolested Apogee AD1000 converter set for this sonic loveliness [complete with purple Wide-Eye apogee cables and stuff].

There is some other stuff back there too, I just haven't excavated it yet.

I was in fact the first guy in NYC to have a "MacII" [which was ordered from one of the Friedmans]. First one! I remember people came over to the store when I arrived and everybody was amazed because it had two floppy drives that you could use at the same time to have two separate programs open simultaneously. Best thing EVAH! Cut my sequencing teeth on that computer with Mark of the Unicorn Performer. Eventually sold it to some dudes in Santa Monica.

Good times!



mightyduck
__________________
MD
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-13-2020, 10:46 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,673
Default Re: Oldest running version of Pro Tool in the world?

Hi,

Just for the fun of it, here's my old Atari system 1989 ..








Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-13-2020, 11:27 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,266
Default Re: Oldest running version of Pro Tool in the world?

oh wow
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-13-2020, 05:42 PM
s.d. finley s.d. finley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Houston, TX. USA
Posts: 1,505
Default Re: Oldest running version of Pro Tool in the world?

Oh man I used to have a PPC 7100 and a Nubus AMII card and ran, IIRC Pro Tools 4 on it. The 7100 died decades ago and I gave the AMII card away to a member here on the DUC. No pictures though
__________________
sdf

www.sugarhillstudios713.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-15-2020, 05:11 AM
mightyduck mightyduck is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: los angeles united states
Posts: 457
Default Re: Oldest running version of Pro Tool in the world?

o.k., its on. I'm gonna gather stuff from storage, take pictures, post evidence, all that.

I may even have receipts. :)
__________________
MD
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-15-2020, 08:33 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,346
Default Re: Oldest running version of Pro Tool in the world?

Great thread. Thanks all.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-15-2020, 02:42 PM
RickoDean's Avatar
RickoDean RickoDean is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fultondale, Ala
Posts: 44
Default Re: Oldest running version of Pro Tool in the world?

If the s900 has floppy drive on it, I have quite a few floppy disks with sound sample programs for the s900. I was just looking at those things a couple days ago wondering what I will do with them since they been inside my storage drawer
__________________
MacPro2,1 2x Intel Xeon 3GHz Quad Core, 32GB ram, 1GB Sapphire Radeon HD 5770, OSX 10.7.5 (Pro Tools 9.0.6 HD3), 192 Digital, 96 i/o, 96i, sync i/o, midi i/o, BBE 442A, ART Pro MPA II (GE tube mod), Behringer Virtualizer Pro, 250GB Hard Drive (system)/ 250GB Hard Drive (recording) / 250GB Hard Drive (audio + sample bank), 250GB Hard Drive (Overflow), DigiDesign ProControl, Pro Control Fader Pack, Maschine MKII, Alesis QS6.1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
trial version pro tool 11 alainj Le Forum en Français 1 03-11-2016 03:43 PM
Pro tool 11.1.3 running smooth Mac 10.11.2 thequin Pro Tools 11 2 01-04-2016 04:45 AM
Oldest Version of PT for OSX Lion? ChuckS macOS 2 07-09-2013 07:10 AM
Pro Tool on G4 iBook Running Panther SGSeries 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-02-2004 01:55 AM
Oldest PT version w/Beat Detective PTUser NYC Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 14 06-02-2003 08:33 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:14 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com