Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 06-02-2007, 03:51 PM
sleadley sleadley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Sydney,NSW,Australia
Posts: 957
Default Re: Could not save because Assertion in \"/volumes/development...

a simpler way is to use the app that is posted in this forum. This will do it automatically.
regards
Simon Leadley
__________________
Plan for the worst, Hope for the Best.
www.trackdown.com.au
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-02-2007, 03:56 PM
Zaschonfeld Zaschonfeld is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 19
Default Re: Could not save because Assertion in \"/volumes/development...

Quote:
Lok at the root volume of the external hard drive. You'll see a folder there called "Digidesign Databases". Inside it should be 2 items "volume.ddb" and "WaveCache.wfm". Make sure ProTools is quit, then throw away this folder on all drives including the internal hard drive, then reboot. Don't worry, Protools will automatically recreate this when you relaunch.


I believe this is what ultimately worked for me.
I'm on a G5 2.3ghz 4.5gigs ram HD 1, with several externall firewire 400's


Brian
Wow, that seems to have worked.

Thanks a ton!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-08-2021, 10:53 AM
JonDeuling JonDeuling is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
Default Re: Could not save because Assertion in "/volumes/development...

I'm having a horrible time with the same message "Could not save as ... because Assertion". Can someone help me?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-10-2021, 09:09 AM
Magnetic Magnetic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Columbus Ohio USA
Posts: 221
Default Re: Could not save because Assertion in "/volumes/development...

+1
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-10-2021, 03:04 PM
groovebrother groovebrother is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: france
Posts: 413
Default Re: Could not save because Assertion in "/volumes/development...

Hello,

have you done all what was said in this thread regarding tips ?


if yes but still having the same problem i would suggest some more like :

#1 - re trash what has been said here including on all usb &/or FW HDD connected to the mac. Do not forget to trash all protools + dae preferences (mac hd / users / library / preferences)

#2 - repair all permissions with the disk utility
#3 - empty the trash.


#4 - in case some files wouldn't trash because still active, restart computer.

#5 - empty the trash again
#6 - restart computer and hold alt+cmd+P+R right after gong one and wait till 4 others have rung before releasing keys - open your session.
#7 - if that still does not work : back to #1 till #6 and then : create new session as said here use import session data and see what hapends.



- Instead of using the diskutility to repair permissions (#2), i would strongly recommand the use of applejack
- just keep in mind when applejack is launched we are in querty mode (azerty here) - proceed all applejack's commands
- back to #6 when applejack is asking you if you want to to restart
__________________
My soundcloud page
Mac Pro 2x 2.66GHz 6-Core / 32Go Ram / PE6R4-i - HD Native - Tempo Sata Pro 6Gb - PTHD : 10 / 11 /12 / Ultimate - 192 i/o Digidesign - MTPAV - OSX : 10.6.8 / 10.8.5 / 10.9.5 / 10.11.6 / 10.13 - PowerMac G4 MDD / Pro Tools HD 5.3 / 6 / 7 / 8

Last edited by groovebrother; 03-10-2021 at 03:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Assertion in "/Volumes/Development/vbpc/AlturaPorts/SDKs/Neo gb studios 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 08-30-2014 08:56 AM
can't open file! assertion in "/volumes/development... tsitrainbow 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 08-12-2011 10:21 AM
Weird error code Assertion in "/Volumes/Development glandau Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 03-08-2011 12:52 PM
error code/ neo assertion"/volumes/development univox1 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 09-16-2009 07:30 PM
Assertion in " Volumes/Development/etc." jicamasalad Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 01-02-2007 09:13 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:40 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com