Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-02-2012, 06:46 PM
Brent_Sydney Brent_Sydney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 442
Default Ideascale for layouts to be saved in ptx file

Hey guys, I normally work on ICONs and now have an artist control.
I find the layout functionality very similar to custom faders on the ICON but with two critical flaws - since the layouts arent saved in the PT session they cant be imported/exported between sessions nor are they recalled with templates.
http://protools.ideascale.com/a/dtd/...79?submitted=1
Hope this would benefit others.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-03-2012, 04:05 AM
fork-media fork-media is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Wellington New Zealand
Posts: 429
Default Re: Ideascale for layouts to be saved in ptx file

yeah I mentioned this for what I use as well... I just mixed 52 epsode series.. unfortunately the sessions were started before I got a mc mix...
so when it came to mixing I had 52 identical sessions layouts.. ( we made all episode from the same template..)

but I had to create the same mapping 52 times!!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-03-2012, 06:33 AM
The golfer The golfer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Montreal / Canada
Posts: 740
Default Re: Ideascale for layouts to be saved in ptx file

+1 voted

I made the same comment (but for the MC Pro) in this thread a few weeks ago:

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=324759

In the meantime, I always start with a session copy of a Protools session called template (but is is not a template). I update this session a few times a week...

Quote:
I find the layout functionality very similar to custom faders on the ICON
If we could flip encoders to faders individually(one at a time) instead of globally, it would be perfect.
__________________
Serge Hamel
Mixer / Sound Designer
http://www.netpostproduction.com
http://immersivesoundvr.com/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-03-2012, 06:35 AM
chris-euphonix chris-euphonix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Scotland
Posts: 94
Default Re: Ideascale for layouts to be saved in ptx file

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent_Sydney View Post
I find the layout functionality very similar to custom faders on the ICON but with two critical flaws - since the layouts arent saved in the PT session they cant be imported/exported between sessions
May be some confusion here.

At least in Logic, layouts *ARE* saved as part of the DAW session.

This does mean they can't be imported/exported between sessions.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-03-2012, 09:42 PM
Brent_Sydney Brent_Sydney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 442
Default Re: Ideascale for layouts to be saved in ptx file

Chris in PT, we have the "Import Session Data" window where we can pick and choose and import selective data from any track in another session.
We use this all the time to bring in mix/ICON layout data from other sessions
http://media.soundonsound.com/sos/fe...fimport8.l.jpg

Most importantly a protools template file stores the same information for use as a starting point for new sessions going forward - ideal for quick turnaround TV mixing as already talked about.

For the layout information from EUCON to be useful inside PT it would HAVE to first be stored into te ptx session document and from there be accessible in the import session data window and in PT template documents.
Does this make more sense?

It would seem to be quite different to logic from what you are saying.
Doesn't logic have some way of importing tracks/info from other sessions??
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-04-2012, 12:59 AM
robertg robertg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: earth
Posts: 557
Default Re: Ideascale for layouts to be saved in ptx file

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent_Sydney View Post
Chris in PT, we have the "Import Session Data" window where we can pick and choose and import selective data from any track in another session.
We use this all the time to bring in mix/ICON layout data from other sessions
http://media.soundonsound.com/sos/fe...fimport8.l.jpg

Most importantly a protools template file stores the same information for use as a starting point for new sessions going forward - ideal for quick turnaround TV mixing as already talked about.

For the layout information from EUCON to be useful inside PT it would HAVE to first be stored into te ptx session document and from there be accessible in the import session data window and in PT template documents.
Does this make more sense?

It would seem to be quite different to logic from what you are saying.
Doesn't logic have some way of importing tracks/info from other sessions??
logic can selectively import too, but i bet avid cannot add this functionality to just one daw because they'd have to do it from scratch with every other daw.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-04-2012, 02:51 AM
Brent_Sydney Brent_Sydney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 442
Default Re: Ideascale for layouts to be saved in ptx file

They can't do it with one app over all others?? We're talking about AVID here right?
"Avid optmised in an open ecosystem" Avid? ie works best within the avid/protools family but will function with other systems to some degree.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-04-2012, 05:31 AM
chris-euphonix chris-euphonix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Scotland
Posts: 94
Default Re: Ideascale for layouts to be saved in ptx file

Quote:
Originally Posted by robertg View Post
logic can selectively import too
Oooh - how's that done...?

File / Import let's me pick a project and choose which tracks etc are imported. Also there's a "import project settings..." box where various settings can be selected import. Is Artist Layouts in there somewhere ?

Or maybe track -> artist fader assignments are imported along with which ever tracks are chosen ?

Ta
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-04-2012, 06:19 AM
black_coffee black_coffee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: London
Posts: 35
Default Re: Ideascale for layouts to be saved in ptx file

Layouts are saved with the session (move the session to another computer with a EUCON device connected and layouts will open there too), but that data is not currently available to use from the Import Session Data window to import into other sessions.

If you are saying that it doesn't save with a Template file, that sounds like a bug, but I haven't seen that.

I'm sure that importing layouts will be available at some point in an update... I know that doesn't really help you now.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-04-2012, 09:25 AM
robertg robertg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: earth
Posts: 557
Default Re: Ideascale for layouts to be saved in ptx file

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent_Sydney View Post
They can't do it with one app over all others?? We're talking about AVID here right?
"Avid optmised in an open ecosystem" Avid? ie works best within the avid/protools family but will function with other systems to some degree.
Remember this thing started out as a Euphonix product. You really want them to throw all that code out and start from scratch to give protools priority? Pffftt.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*PANIC* pt9 has saved a session as a ptx file. Client here and I can't open it!! JeremyPaulCarroll macOS 4 01-14-2014 01:13 PM
Artist Mix Layouts saved when surface not connected? benderissimo Artist Series 1 10-25-2013 08:39 PM
-- Where is the saved Eucon settings file? -- jameswilletts Artist Series 2 12-10-2012 11:51 AM
in what file are the contents hardware setup saved? D&N Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 09-29-2007 01:56 PM
PT Session saved as Unix file? mals Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 02-21-2006 03:24 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:34 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com