Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-02-2009, 01:29 PM
Andy Hay Andy Hay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 193
Default DPE Punches Unreliable

hey gang,

So I started using DPE tracks for my stems and PMs late last year upon the recommendation of another mixer (vs. the usual pre-roll, 10msec x-fade, destructive record, post-roll scenario which can sometimes lead to ticks and pops).

This past week during my Dolby PM session the director decided he actually really missed that distant dog barking during a scene. No problem, stand-by Dolby, open up the mix session for that reel, unmute the dog on one of my FX tracks, track arm the FX stem, punch in the dog bark. I hear it, I see the waveform update with little spikes that are clearly the dog. Un-arm the track, watch the Task Manager to confirm that PT has "finsihed closing a record file", close the session. Go back to my PM session which links to these same DPE stems and instruct Dolby we're going to punch in that dog-bark section - pre-roll, punch... NO DOG!! Zoom in on the FX stem - yup, I can see the dog in the waveform, solo the FX stem - no dog to be heard... weird...

Go back to the Reel 3 mix session, solo the FX stem in the session - no dog... scratches head... repeats above steps... this time the dog makes it into the FX stem. Now I'm getting nervous wondering if other punches I've made throughout the mix to my stems have actually made it into the stems... nightmare!!!

Has anyone else had any issues punching in to DPE tracks? I couldn't find any cs updates addressing the issue.

PT 7.4.2 HD Accel5 10.4.8

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-03-2009, 01:01 AM
lode lode is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 623
Default Re: DPE Punches Unreliable

DPE= Destructive Punch Edit? I've been considering changing to that too, but I was always afraid that I would get clicks in the file that I wouldn't notice.

WHen I manually splice the mix after recording I always listen to the "punch ins" afterwards and fix them. When I use DPE I don't really know where the punch in happened afterwards, so I can't double check that it is OK.

After your post I know I'll never use it.
__________________
Newest Pro Tools on mac & pc.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-03-2009, 02:24 AM
Andy Hay Andy Hay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 193
Default Re: DPE Punches Unreliable

one of the advantages of DPE tracks is that punch-ins are seamless and free of any pops/ticks... this is why I adopted using them as a means to save time, however on that note on my system when disarming a punched track it can take around 5 minutes for PT to "close the file" and during that time all responses to key-commands are severely slow - you may have to hit spacebar 4-5 times before the system recognizes the command and begins playback... strangely enough if i hit play on the D-control there is no lag. Makes for a frustrating experience all-around... Perhaps it's best only to use DPE tracks on a dedicated stem-recorder system - curious what others are finding.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-03-2009, 02:00 PM
Felix Rost Felix Rost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 609
Default Re: DPE Punches Unreliable

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy Hay View Post
PT 7.4.2 HD Accel5 10.4.8
OOPS!

you should not install 7.4.2 on Tiger, it's for Leopard 3/4.

7.4csX is right for you.
__________________
http://felixrost.de
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-03-2009, 07:16 PM
Andy Hay Andy Hay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 193
Default Re: DPE Punches Unreliable

oh my mistake.. it's 7.4. The LE system has 7.4.2. Nice catch tho!!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-07-2009, 01:42 AM
sounddroid sounddroid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Marin County, CA
Posts: 52
Default Re: DPE Punches Unreliable

Most major mixing studios are now using Pro Tools recorders (to replace the MMR's we were using for years), but almost always on dedicated recorder machines. So it's safe, but with a caveat:

I'm not sure if this is still the case, but when Digi first released the Destructive Punch feature, the release notes specifically cautioned against using DP within a mix-in-the-box session. I've been bit by this exact same problem, and just fell back to my old technique of using Destructive Record (with a few seconds of preroll) when recording inside a mix-in-the-box session.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-07-2009, 11:49 AM
Andy Hay Andy Hay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 193
Default Re: DPE Punches Unreliable

Thanks Sounddroid.. I guess I should've RTFM instead of simply listening to my colleagues... :)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-07-2009, 03:58 PM
funkcity funkcity is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hollywood, CA, USA
Posts: 94
Default Re: DPE Punches Unreliable

We've been using it for 2 years now with 3 dedicated ProTools systems recording to the same SAN and its been excellent. No recording in the box on these mixing stages.

It took Digi a LONG time (10 years) to get "Tape Mode" right but now it just plain works!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-08-2009, 12:32 PM
subwoof subwoof is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Saratoga Springs Utah
Posts: 565
Default Re: DPE Punches Unreliable

Quote:
Originally Posted by sounddroid View Post
Most major mixing studios are now using Pro Tools recorders (to replace the MMR's we were using for years), but almost always on dedicated recorder machines. So it's safe, but with a caveat:

I'm not sure if this is still the case, but when Digi first released the Destructive Punch feature, the release notes specifically cautioned against using DP within a mix-in-the-box session. I've been bit by this exact same problem, and just fell back to my old technique of using Destructive Record (with a few seconds of preroll) when recording inside a mix-in-the-box session.

Hey Soundroid, who are you? Do I know you? You are obviously at the Ranch, but seem a bit secretive about it!! Anyway, I appreciate your comments on the DUC.

Thanks

Mike
__________________
Michael McDonough, M.P.S.E.
Michael McDonough Sound Design
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
More Assertion Errors during Punches in 7.3 cs4 FRUSTRATED!! Nathan W. Post - Surround - Video 4 08-21-2007 10:57 AM
Live Monitoring While Doing Punches- Not Possible? Ayotte 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 02-05-2006 09:15 AM
Punches and pans one03wannabe 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-31-2005 11:24 AM
automating multiple auto punches Layagroove 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 06-27-2004 01:33 PM
MBox 164 sample latency and punches stallman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-17-2003 02:16 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:15 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com