Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-20-2011, 07:53 PM
AliGlenUig AliGlenUig is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 40
Unhappy Pro Tools 8.0.4 clicks and pops when recording audio.

Setup:
Pro Tools 8.0.4
Digidesign M Box 2
Windows 7 64 Bit

Yes I know, I know that countless people have posted here with issues about clicks and pops on their pro tools system when recording, but having tried many suggestions [including most of the stuff on the avid windows 7 troubleshooting guide] I am still having nasty issues with clicks and pops when recording audio into my system. The clicks and pops are heard when I record and are recorded onto the track.
I have no issues with playback, and I've made several succesful mixes, although I have had to max out some buffer settings to bounce long tracks [6 mins or so].

One thing I have noticed is that I don't seem to have any other sample option than 256 in the Audio Playback panel.. don't know if that's significant or fixable - other folk seem to fix some problems by changing it.

Lastly, I'm not particularly computer technically literate, and haven't had this system running very long, but I've seen others on this forum posting one of these reports, sorry if theres stuff missing, and thanks for any help you can give:


< Computer >
Model: Dell Studio 1558
Workgroup: WORKGROUP
Host Name: Ali-PC
User: Ali

< Processor >
Model: Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU M 350 @
2.27GHz
Speed: 2.26GHz
Cores per Processor: 2 Unit(s)
Threads per Core: 2 Unit(s)
Type: Mobile, Dual-Core
Integrated Data Cache: 2x 32kB, Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way, 64
byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L2 On-board Cache: 2x 256kB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 8-way, 64
byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L3 On-board Cache: 3MB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 12-way, Exclusive,
64 byte line size, 4 threads sharing

< Computer >
Platform Compliance: Intel Centrino Mobile Technology
Mainboard: Dell 0874P6
BIOS: Dell A06 05/27/2010
Bus(es): X-Bus PCI PCIe IMB USB FireWire/1394 i2c/
SMBus
Multi-Processor (MP) Support: No
Multi-Processor Advanced PIC (:Yes
Total Memory: 3.87GB DDR3 SO-DIMM

< Chipset >
Model: Dell Core (Auburndale/Havendale) DRAM
Controller
Front Side Bus Speed: 1x 133MHz (133MHz)
Total Memory: 4GB DDR3 SO-DIMM
Channels: 2
Memory Bus Speed: 2x 532MHz (1GHz)

< Memory Module(s) >
Memory Module: Samsung M471B5673FH0-CH9 2GB DDR3 SO-DIMM PC3-
10700S DDR3-1334 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)
Memory Module: Samsung M471B5673FH0-CH9 2GB DDR3 SO-DIMM PC3-
10700S DDR3-1334 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)

< Video System >
Video Adapter: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5470 (80 SM5.0 750MHz,
1GB DDR3 2x800MHz, PCIe 2.00 x16)

< Graphics Processor >
STREAM Processor: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5470 (160SP 2C 750MHz,
1GB 2x800MHz)
Compute Shader Processor: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5470 (80SP 750MHz,
1014.7MB 2x800MHz)

< Storage Devices >
Hitachi HTS545032B9A300 (320GB:298GB (C:)
TSSTcorp DVD+/-RW TS-T633C (SA:N/A (D:)

< Logical Storage Devices >
RECOVERY: 15GB (NTFS)
OS (C:): 283GB (NTFS) @ Hitachi HTS545032B9A300 (320GB,
SATA300, 2.5", 5400rpm, NCQ, 7MB Cache)
Optical Drive (D:): N/A @ TSSTcorp DVD+/-RW TS-T633C (SATA150,
DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache)

< Peripherals >
LPC Hub Controller 1: Dell HM55 LPC Interface Controller
LPC Legacy Controller 1: Winbond W83687THF
Audio Device: Dell P55/PM55/3400 High Definition Audio
Audio Codec: Integrated Device Tech 7675h
Audio Device: Dell Manhattan HDMI Audio [Mobility Radeon HD
5000 Series]
Audio Codec: ATI (AMD) HDMI Audio
Disk Controller: Dell P55/PM55/3400 4 port SATA AHCI
Controller
Disk Controller: Dell PCIe SD/MMC Host Controller
USB Controller 1: Dell P55/PM55/3400 USB2 Enhanced Host
Controller
USB Controller 2: Dell P55/PM55/3400 USB2 Enhanced Host
Controller
FireWire/1394 Controller 1: Dell E832h
SMBus/i2c Controller 1: Intel 801xx/63xx SMBus

< Printers and Faxes >
Printer: Microsoft XPS Document Writer (600x600,
Colour)
Fax: Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)

< Network Services >
Network Adapter: Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller (Ethernet,
100Mbps)
Wireless Adapter 1: Dell Wireless 1397 WLAN Mini-Card

< Power Management >
Mains (AC) Line Status: On-Line
Battery No 1: 100%

< Operating System >
Windows System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home 6.01.7600
Platform Compliance: x64

< Windows Experience Index >
Current System: 4.9
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-20-2011, 09:14 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,776
Default Re: Pro Tools 8.0.4 clicks and pops when recording audio.

You are missing one critical component: a qualified dedicated recording drive. recording to the system drive is a big no-no, and it's made evn worse by the fact that yours is only 5400 rpm, and Pt needs to see a 7200 rpm SEPARATE drive for recording.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-20-2011, 09:24 PM
AliGlenUig AliGlenUig is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 40
Default Re: Pro Tools 8.0.4 clicks and pops when recording audio.

Right. Thanks. I hear USB 2.0 isn't supported so Firewire would be the way forward? Can you reccomend any specific drives?

Still a little taken aback as a friend of mine is running a very similar system on vista and recording to the internal drive [I believe] without this problem. But I'm sure you know what you're talking about.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-20-2011, 09:29 PM
AliGlenUig AliGlenUig is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 40
Default Re: Pro Tools 8.0.4 clicks and pops when recording audio.

Also, forgive me, I'm not being mistrusting, but I'm a student with rather limited funding and need to be fairly sure this will resolve the problem before parting with my cash. Are you pretty sure this'll fix it? [sorry if this is a stupid question]
Ali
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-20-2011, 09:30 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,776
Default Re: Pro Tools 8.0.4 clicks and pops when recording audio.

If he's having any success recording to his system drive, he's (TEMPORARILY!) lucky.
As of PT 9, AVID recommends USB externals. But with PT8, yes, firewire. Is this a laptop? Dell laptops are a notorious crapshoot with PT, and we can pretty much guarantee their FW controller won't work. But if it's a desktop, just get a second internal drive. And that 5400 rpm system drive is marginal at best. It really should be 7200 rpm.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-21-2011, 04:18 AM
AliGlenUig AliGlenUig is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 40
Default Re: Pro Tools 8.0.4 clicks and pops when recording audio.

Yes it is a Dell Laptop, hence my immediate jump to firewire. There's also an eSATA port but this doubles up as a USB and means that I'll have to get rid of another USB device [probably my mouse].
And yes, I know desktops are far superior for everything and I could have chosen a better laptop for the job, but as I say I have a limited amount of money and I did buy the laptop a good few months before deciding to get Pro Tools.

So you're basically suggesting I'm screwed then? The only solution is firewire but you don't think the Firewire controller in the laptop is likely to work?
Any solutions to this or other ideas?
If only laptops weren't so boxed up and it was easier to replace components... Gah

Last edited by AliGlenUig; 01-21-2011 at 04:19 AM. Reason: Spelling
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-21-2011, 04:46 AM
AliGlenUig AliGlenUig is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 40
Default Re: Pro Tools 8.0.4 clicks and pops when recording audio.

I have also just discovered the existence of an '34 mm expresscard' slot. As I understand it, external cards and such can be connected here. Could an external firewire card be the answer?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-21-2011, 06:39 AM
TCM's Avatar
TCM TCM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Europe
Posts: 1,513
Default Re: Pro Tools 8.0.4 clicks and pops when recording audio.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AliGlenUig View Post
I have also just discovered the existence of an '34 mm expresscard' slot. As I understand it, external cards and such can be connected here. Could an external firewire card be the answer?
I recommend eSata!
__________________
002R BLA mod and Mbox mini 2, PT 11.3.2,
HD Native, HD IO 16x8x8, PT 2018.7, Win 10 Pro 64, Asrock X99 Extreme6/3.1, i7-6850K, 32 GB Ram, SSD system drive, ssd audio drive
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-21-2011, 09:56 AM
AliGlenUig AliGlenUig is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 40
Default Re: Pro Tools 8.0.4 clicks and pops when recording audio.

Right I've pretty much decided on buying a firewire 800 hard drive and trying it on the dell firewire port. If that doesnt work then I'll get an expresscard 3/4 firewire 800 adapter and use that to connect it.
Please, anybody, point out any possible flaws in this idea before I carry it out.
Also. Can anyone reccomend any particularly good Firewire 800 drives for the job?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-21-2011, 04:40 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,776
Default Re: Pro Tools 8.0.4 clicks and pops when recording audio.

I don't think FW 800 is officially qualified for Pro Tools but it MIGHT work. Get a SIIG card.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pops and clicks the whole way through recording radioheaded Pro Tools 9 8 03-03-2011 03:08 PM
Pro Tools 8 M-Powered Pops/Clicks with Guitar Rig 3 Kontrol Audio Recording slenderfungus Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 8 01-15-2009 10:24 PM
Pro Tools 8 M-Powered Pops/Clicks with Guitar Rig 3 Kontrol Audio Recording slenderfungus 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-26-2008 01:13 AM
Clicks and Pops when recording Pro Tools M-Powered 7.4 CS3 m00f Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 8 04-30-2008 11:29 PM
Pops and clicks while recording PAUL ALLEN General Discussion 4 09-28-2003 10:09 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:56 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com