Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-06-2023, 09:12 AM
XNA XNA is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 15
Default ProTools v2023.9.0 Freezes on launch

I purchased a new MacBook Pro M2 Max OS14.1 a month ago. I set everything up, installed PT and it seemed to open fine and work. But now, when I try to open PT v 2023.9.0 it always freezes up on the launch window and never opens. Attached is a screenshot of the frozen screen.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screenshot 2023-11-06 at 9.02.45 AM.jpg (30.9 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-06-2023, 09:47 AM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 6,407
Default Re: ProTools v2023.9.0 Freezes on launch

More details about your computer/setup would certainly help here.

Nothing has been “officially qualified” with Sonoma yet, but some report it’s working fine.

Check here and see if you’re in “not compatible” territory.

https://avidtech.my.salesforce-sites...tibility-Chart
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-06-2023, 10:05 AM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,534
Default Re: ProTools v2023.9.0 Freezes on launch

The first thing to suspect are non Apple Silicon compatible plugins. Unfortunately there are still some that have not been updated to be compatible yet. You'll need to check each manufacturer to see if they have a compatibility statement and what version is needed. In the short term, you can try to run Protools in "Rosetta" mode to see if those plugins work that way.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
MacbookPro14,3 - Intel Core i7 3.1 GHz, 16 GB
MacOS 13.6.7 running Protools 2024.3.1

Mac Studio M1Max - 64GB
MacOS 14.5 running Protools 2024.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-06-2023, 10:14 AM
marianna's Avatar
marianna marianna is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Apollo Beach Florida
Posts: 635
Default Re: ProTools v2023.9.0 Freezes on launch

Quote:
Originally Posted by XNA View Post
I purchased a new MacBook Pro M2 Max OS14.1 a month ago. I set everything up, installed PT and it seemed to open fine and work. But now, when I try to open PT v 2023.9.0 it always freezes up on the launch window and never opens. Attached is a screenshot of the frozen screen.
Hi there
Looks like the launch process is stopping at Mod Delay_III which might be incompatible with Sonoma. Go to the plugins folder and see if dragging that to the desktop allows the PT app to launch.

As was stated - you might need to update some plug in's.

Marianna
__________________
Marianna Montague
Sr. Dir. CX and Community | Customer Advocate

[email protected]
cell +1 (813) 493-6800
AOL IM avidmarianna
Twitter Avidmarianna


We're Avid. Learn more at www.avid.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-06-2023, 10:17 AM
XNA XNA is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 15
Default Re: ProTools v2023.9.0 Freezes on launch

How do I run it in "rosetta mode"?
__________________
MacBook Pro 16in M2 Max 2023
32gb RAM
2TB SSD

-Running-

Pro Tools: Studio 2023.9.0
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-06-2023, 10:20 AM
XNA XNA is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 15
Default Re: ProTools v2023.9.0 Freezes on launch

Quote:
Originally Posted by marianna View Post
Hi there
Looks like the launch process is stopping at Mod Delay_III which might be incompatible with Sonoma. Go to the plugins folder and see if dragging that to the desktop allows the PT app to launch.

As was stated - you might need to update some plug in's.

Marianna
Where do I find the plug in folder?
__________________
MacBook Pro 16in M2 Max 2023
32gb RAM
2TB SSD

-Running-

Pro Tools: Studio 2023.9.0
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-06-2023, 10:57 AM
marianna's Avatar
marianna marianna is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Apollo Beach Florida
Posts: 635
Default Re: ProTools v2023.9.0 Freezes on launch

Quote:
Originally Posted by XNA View Post
Where do I find the plug in folder?
Are you on Mac or PC.....? instructions depend on OS. I see your on a Mac based on your profile. This is something that you can easily google.

Instructions are here on our Knowledge Base.

https://avidtech.my.salesforce-sites...older-location


Marianna
__________________
Marianna Montague
Sr. Dir. CX and Community | Customer Advocate

[email protected]
cell +1 (813) 493-6800
AOL IM avidmarianna
Twitter Avidmarianna


We're Avid. Learn more at www.avid.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-06-2023, 02:40 PM
XNA XNA is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 15
Default Re: ProTools v2023.9.0 Freezes on launch

Quote:
Originally Posted by marianna View Post
Are you on Mac or PC.....? instructions depend on OS. I see your on a Mac based on your profile. This is something that you can easily google.

Instructions are here on our Knowledge Base.

https://avidtech.my.salesforce-sites...older-location


Marianna
yes, I am on the Mac that is shown in my signature.

I followed the path in the link you provided....there is not "Audio" folder within the "Avid" Folder.

I've googled it and some people say to look in the Library>Application Support>Digidesign>PlugIn. But there is no "Plug in" folder within "Digidesign".
__________________
MacBook Pro 16in M2 Max 2023
32gb RAM
2TB SSD

-Running-

Pro Tools: Studio 2023.9.0
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-06-2023, 03:58 PM
marianna's Avatar
marianna marianna is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Apollo Beach Florida
Posts: 635
Default Re: ProTools v2023.9.0 Freezes on launch

Quote:
Originally Posted by XNA View Post
yes, I am on the Mac that is shown in my signature.

I followed the path in the link you provided....there is not "Audio" folder within the "Avid" Folder.

I've googled it and some people say to look in the Library>Application Support>Digidesign>PlugIn. But there is no "Plug in" folder within "Digidesign".
what Mac OS exactly are you on? version please?

Marianna
__________________
Marianna Montague
Sr. Dir. CX and Community | Customer Advocate

[email protected]
cell +1 (813) 493-6800
AOL IM avidmarianna
Twitter Avidmarianna


We're Avid. Learn more at www.avid.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-06-2023, 04:30 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 19,674
Default Re: ProTools v2023.9.0 Freezes on launch

Quote:
yes, I am on the Mac that is shown in my signature.

I followed the path in the link you provided....there is not "Audio" folder within the "Avid" Folder.

I've googled it and some people say to look in the Library>Application Support>Digidesign>PlugIn. But there is no "Plug in" folder within "Digidesign".
No, anything with Digidesign is ancient and wrong. The modern AAX plugin folder for all versions of Pro Tools for the last decade or so is

/Library/Application Support/Avid/Audio/Plug-Ins

or

/Library/Application\ Support/Avid/Audio/Plug-Ins

if you are typing this in the Terminal/shell and need to escape the space in Application Support.

If there is no Audio directory in the Avid directory then something is very wrong with your system. And more than that I'd say that's impossible given that when Pro Tools starts up it will automatically recreate that directory and add the default core plugins to the Plug-Ins folder within it. So you are almost certainly looking at this wrong.

One guess is you are looking at

~/Library/Application\ Support/Avid

or

Library/Application\ Support/Avid

if you are already in your home directory.

Instead of

/Library/Application\ Support/Avid
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools v2023.6 Now Available Avid Technical Alerts 0 06-08-2023 10:22 AM
Pro Tools v2023.3 Now Available Avid Technical Alerts 0 03-24-2023 09:12 AM
Protools 10.3.4 freezes computer on launch SevenFactor macOS 1 12-11-2013 10:51 PM
Protools 8 Freezes at "Creating Dae Objects" upon Launch? MythMuzik 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 18 04-22-2011 07:53 PM
6.1 freezes on launch TomSmith 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-22-2004 07:20 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com