Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-10-2001, 10:31 PM
yoshi68 yoshi68 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 20
Default Sync with an external recorder like a Korg D16 or Roland recorder

Hello, I really need some advice and help on this topic:

Situation:
User comes in and wants a remix of his record. He used a Korg D16 hard disk recorder. Maximum of 4 outputs...the session is a total of 8 tracks.

In order to track all 8 tracks into PT I will have to do 4 at a time in 2 sets. Obviously, the idea to sync the two machines together came to mind...except I've tried and I've tried to get MMC to work over MIDI so that when I hit play in PT or hit play on the Korg the two will be in sync...

I've tried two scenarios where each was a the master, but it doesn't work. I can see that MIDI is getting to the Korg, but no syncing or controlling of the machine is occuring.

Is this an incorrect approach?
Am I misunderstanding something?

If I can't sync the two machines so that the Korg will play and PT will record, I will have to resort to recording a leading tone on each discreet track in the Korg, and then track it all in and manually sync them up by eyeballing the leading tone in the Edit window.

Any help would be greatly appreciate..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-11-2001, 02:35 AM
IOP Drummer IOP Drummer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 570
Default Re: Sync with an external recorder like a Korg D16 or Roland recorder

MMC is NOT synchronization. MMC allows one transport to control all transports. This is only useful if your MASTER SYNCH DEVICE's PLAY BUTTON IS NOT THE ONE YOU"RE PRESSING!!! For example. If the korg is the master, but you wanna hit play on PTLE, how do you do that?? With MMC, you hit play on PTLE and it triggers playback on the korg which triggers MTC on the Korg, which triggers PTLE to follow along.


In your situation you need MIDI TIME CODE (MTC) You set the Korg to recieve MTC at 30 frames a second and ARM IT. Arming is most likely done by pressing play. It will not play, but arm the unit to play to MTC. Then in PTLE you hit apple 2 and in the session setup screen, you send MTC out the digi port. You then plug a midi cable from the digi out into the korg midi in. Hit play on PT and it should play the korg. Detailed and specific instructions will be in the korg user manual on how to arm and recieve MTC. Also keep in mind session start times. If you're sending MTC starting at 0 when your korg session starts at 1 hour, it'll take a while to start chasing!!
__________________
Mike Blanchard
Engineer
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-15-2001, 08:04 AM
markert markert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 23
Default Re: Sync with an external recorder like a Korg D16 or Roland recorder

Yoshi,

I go from my Korg d16 to ptle all the time. I am not in the studio right now, so I am going from memory. I set Korg as MTC master and set it to send MMC. Set PT to receive MMC and to sync to incoming spdif (ptle is a little odd here. I think they call the rca digital the spdif and the optical digital something else). Create a stereo track in ptle and set input to the appropriate digital. Arm ptle by pressing record and then click record while holding alt-option button. This "pre-arms" ptle and lets it sync faster.

The sync with MTC is not sample accurate. If you are transporting eight mics of drums, therefore, you may get bad phasing problems. I have had better luck submixing drums to two tracks and then dumping to ptle.

If you are still having trouble getting it to sync, make sure everything is set up right in ptle. For example, make sure midi stuff is set up right in OMS. Also go to Hardware>setup window and play with those settings.

I'm sure you know this also, but Korg has to be set to master MTC and MMC in the "systems" window.

By the way, how are you transferring four tracks? The Korg has only stereo outs.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-17-2001, 08:30 AM
chealy chealy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 24
Default Re: Sync with an external recorder like a Korg D16 or Roland recorder

Am I right in saying that after synching to spdif you have to switch synchronisation back to internal in ptle for playback? [img]images/icons/confused.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sync an external harddisk recorder uller 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-30-2011 07:50 PM
Sync external recorder to Pro Tools? Rugid77 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 11-03-2010 03:34 PM
[Q] Importing tracks from HD Recorder (Korg D1600) Jason Kardong 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 10-14-2004 11:11 AM
Roland VS-2480 HD Recorder as HUI for PT andrej770 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 04-30-2003 04:59 AM
sync PTF to external HD recorder Gerald-o Digidesign Hardware & Software 0 11-04-2000 02:20 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:33 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com