Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-30-2016, 11:50 PM
RCarterTX RCarterTX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Dallas
Posts: 3
Default Seeking Advice On Bussing To Create Stems

Im creating individual stems to be sent to my engineer for mixing. I have individual busses routed to each Aux track and those Aux tracks bussed out and into new audio tracks to create the stems, but I also would like to bounce my effects ie:reverb, delay, to each stem also. (Attached is a screenshot of my session)

*Orange tracks are individual drum tacks with processing.
*Green tracks are Aux tracks.
*Blue tracks are the Stem tracks.
*Light Blue are the Effects tracks.

(My engineer does not have the same Plug-ins I use so Im creating processed/Wet stems for his disposal).


How should I buss my effects to the Stem tracks in Pro Tools simultaneously?

Regards,
Ray
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2016-07-31 at 1.32.27 AM.jpg (75.3 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-31-2016, 03:11 AM
Shifted Music's Avatar
Shifted Music Shifted Music is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,010
Default Re: Seeking Advice On Bussing To Create Stems

I don't think you need the aux tracks any longer.

just select all the tracks and right click to choose commit.

all the tracks will be rendered on new tracks and you can decide what to do with the old ones.

then just select all the tracks and hit export to put them in a easy location to deliver.

have a look in the manual for the commit particulars, and maybe do a save session copy in to create a new folder with everything self contained to try the commit and yet keep the original session in tack. I think after a poke around and trying a few different options in the commit dialog you'll get what you need.
__________________
Jay-J

System
MacPro 12 Core • 24 G Ram • 10.12.6
PT 12.8.1 • Mbox 3 Pro • Plug-ins Verified
4 HD • OS ssd | Audio ssd | Sample Library ssd | Storage
MAXPower eSATA 6G Card • Wiebetech RTX100H-Q
Kensington Trackball Works/Orbit Optical
Bluetooth off/Airport on and off.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-31-2016, 09:10 PM
RCarterTX RCarterTX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Dallas
Posts: 3
Default Re: Seeking Advice On Bussing To Create Stems

Jay-J,

The commit is an awesome feature that I did take time to try, however It did not commit my Aux tracks effects onto the stems. Is there a way to do this with commit?
__________________
Regards,
Ray
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-01-2016, 11:24 AM
RCarterTX RCarterTX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Dallas
Posts: 3
Default Re: Seeking Advice On Bussing To Create Stems

Jay-J,

I had a friend show me the error of my ways. Turns out that I have to route the track buss that is receiving the Reverb to the buss output in the Aux track that has the reverb effect, then send that Aux buss output to the input on the Stem track.

I gave it a try and it worked! This is more of a traditional way of creating stems but with the correct routing it does the job. The commit feature is great, but I will have to try that approach for a different task. Thanks for the advice.
__________________
Regards,
Ray
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-01-2016, 11:48 AM
Shifted Music's Avatar
Shifted Music Shifted Music is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,010
Default Re: Seeking Advice On Bussing To Create Stems

yeah I missed that part of the routing...

in my normal mixing i use send effects, but when i have worked on projects needed proper stems i DONT use send effect and rather use at the track level and adjust mix knobs to determine amount of said effects.. then my commit is EASY..

if I had already set send effects then i would have to copy the plug in to each track that I had sent to the effects and adjust mix knobs to simulate amount of send i was getting.

but yeah with some additional routing and using solo then commit may serve in this capacity, more steps but gets the job done.

glad you got it sorted.
__________________
Jay-J

System
MacPro 12 Core • 24 G Ram • 10.12.6
PT 12.8.1 • Mbox 3 Pro • Plug-ins Verified
4 HD • OS ssd | Audio ssd | Sample Library ssd | Storage
MAXPower eSATA 6G Card • Wiebetech RTX100H-Q
Kensington Trackball Works/Orbit Optical
Bluetooth off/Airport on and off.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Seeking Advice amajorguy Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 10 10-21-2014 07:14 AM
Some advice on Stems and effects M-ManLA Post - Surround - Video 10 05-30-2012 11:23 PM
Seeking EQ advice rtm Tips & Tricks 5 04-04-2009 10:09 AM
New guy here...seeking advice Simonize 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 07-30-2004 06:22 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:07 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com