Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-11-2010, 02:13 PM
HDK_Ent HDK_Ent is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SFV, CA
Posts: 206
Default Unstable

ok, well aside from the fact that my computer is up and running and recording again, it seems to me that its being a bit unstable. sessions where all the audio files are there, when pulled up, are telling me that some are missing.

also when i tried bouncing a session today, pro tools first returned an error, stating that there was an error with the bounce and that it had to stop, when i tried it again, it just froze up on me and i had to cancel. also now whenever i load a session it lags up on it, and by lag i mean, for about 30 seconds or more.

i know that this is unusual behavior, considering the session im pulling up has 1 stereo track, and 4 mono audio tracks. no plug ins, busses or inserts on the whole track. so im left in shock and awe.

a 1200 i7 pc should not run like that. shoot, even my old gateway i used to use didnt lag up this much...

ill port another sandra inna minute. there has to be something wrong here...
__________________
DVERB Test 306

i7 920 2.66,
Gigabyte EX58-UD3R,
6 GB Corsair XMS3 Ram,
WD 500GB 7200 rpm HD,
WD 750GB 7200 rpm HD,
MBox 2 Mini, PT LE 8,
Axiom 49 Midi Controller,
Akai MPK 61 Midi Controller,
AKG C-414 Microphone.

Wish List: 2 Months.
Digi 003 BLA Mod,

MBP i5, 2.53 Ghz, 4GB of ram, 320GB internal, 500GB External Firewire, Waves Mercury,

Dverb Test - 156

"How you gon' do an 'Intro' to an 'Outro'?"
-Steezy on "Goodbye" By Spliit
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-11-2010, 02:19 PM
caruso7r caruso7r is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 842
Default Re: Unstable

Check if all your plugins are compatible. Even if they're not loaded into a session, you could run into problems with incompatible plugins. Based on other threads you posted, you might have some incompatible "waves" plugins unless you already upgraded.
__________________
John
Pro Tools 12.5
Macbook Pro & Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-11-2010, 02:20 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,641
Default Re: Unstable

Rest assured there is something wrong and you will ultimately find it. Looking forward to the Sandra.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2024 HDX Hybrid
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-11-2010, 02:32 PM
HDK_Ent HDK_Ent is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SFV, CA
Posts: 206
Default Re: Unstable

could the waves plug ins really be causing me those kinds of problems? im waiting for sandra to finish downloading. then ill restart and post it...
__________________
DVERB Test 306

i7 920 2.66,
Gigabyte EX58-UD3R,
6 GB Corsair XMS3 Ram,
WD 500GB 7200 rpm HD,
WD 750GB 7200 rpm HD,
MBox 2 Mini, PT LE 8,
Axiom 49 Midi Controller,
Akai MPK 61 Midi Controller,
AKG C-414 Microphone.

Wish List: 2 Months.
Digi 003 BLA Mod,

MBP i5, 2.53 Ghz, 4GB of ram, 320GB internal, 500GB External Firewire, Waves Mercury,

Dverb Test - 156

"How you gon' do an 'Intro' to an 'Outro'?"
-Steezy on "Goodbye" By Spliit
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-11-2010, 02:34 PM
caruso7r caruso7r is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 842
Default Re: Unstable

Definitely it could be the "waves" plugins. But we'll wait for your sandra report. EDIT: You mentioned your old Gateway didn't have these issues. Did you have the same plugins installed?
__________________
John
Pro Tools 12.5
Macbook Pro & Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-11-2010, 02:36 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,641
Default Re: Unstable

I have suspected this from the start.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2024 HDX Hybrid
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-11-2010, 02:49 PM
HDK_Ent HDK_Ent is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SFV, CA
Posts: 206
Default Re: Unstable

everything was identical in my old gateway... honestly i have no clue how i even recorded or mixed on that thing, it was by chance that pro tools even loaded up, i never had any idea about all this compatability hardware stuff till recently when i joined...

i had a 1gb video card, 4 gigs of mis matched ram, ranging from generic ram to kingston.

i had 2 hard drives, one 80 and one 160, and they were horrible generic hard drives from ebay.

i had windows xp home cs1

and a mbox 2.


now that ive learned a ton more information as far as compatibility it stumps me how i ran pt le 8 with all these plug ins working perfectly, given the OCCASIONAL but rare 90xx errors...

it stumps me...

but the sandra, yes, give me one min to restart my comp its done installing.
__________________
DVERB Test 306

i7 920 2.66,
Gigabyte EX58-UD3R,
6 GB Corsair XMS3 Ram,
WD 500GB 7200 rpm HD,
WD 750GB 7200 rpm HD,
MBox 2 Mini, PT LE 8,
Axiom 49 Midi Controller,
Akai MPK 61 Midi Controller,
AKG C-414 Microphone.

Wish List: 2 Months.
Digi 003 BLA Mod,

MBP i5, 2.53 Ghz, 4GB of ram, 320GB internal, 500GB External Firewire, Waves Mercury,

Dverb Test - 156

"How you gon' do an 'Intro' to an 'Outro'?"
-Steezy on "Goodbye" By Spliit
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-11-2010, 02:55 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 39,362
Default Re: Unstable

What drive are you recording to? Your quickie description only lists a single drive. The quick way to check on the Waves is to pull the files out of the Plugins folder(just drag them onto the desktop). C:>Program Files>Common Files>Digidesign>DAE>Plugins and drag out anything that has Waves in front of it. Open PT and try any session. OR, hold the shift key while you open a session as that will disable all plugins(right-click on the plugins to re-enable them by choosing "Make Active")
__________________
HP Z4 workstation, Mbox Studio
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-11-2010, 02:56 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 6,407
Default Re: Unstable

Didn't see a dedicated audio drive in there anywhere.....
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-11-2010, 03:31 PM
HDK_Ent HDK_Ent is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SFV, CA
Posts: 206
Default Re: Unstable

i have to fix my sig, but i do have 3 drives. 1 for reason 1 for pt and 1 for os...
__________________
DVERB Test 306

i7 920 2.66,
Gigabyte EX58-UD3R,
6 GB Corsair XMS3 Ram,
WD 500GB 7200 rpm HD,
WD 750GB 7200 rpm HD,
MBox 2 Mini, PT LE 8,
Axiom 49 Midi Controller,
Akai MPK 61 Midi Controller,
AKG C-414 Microphone.

Wish List: 2 Months.
Digi 003 BLA Mod,

MBP i5, 2.53 Ghz, 4GB of ram, 320GB internal, 500GB External Firewire, Waves Mercury,

Dverb Test - 156

"How you gon' do an 'Intro' to an 'Outro'?"
-Steezy on "Goodbye" By Spliit
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why is PT so unstable for me? typhy macOS 1 07-31-2012 12:55 PM
PT 9.0.5 - so unstable anackman macOS 4 10-24-2011 01:09 PM
Why is PT 9 so unstable? tblythe.sound macOS 44 05-07-2011 02:19 PM
AAF unstable? jackisdead Post - Surround - Video 2 08-26-2008 03:01 PM
Mac? Unstable? link 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 14 05-05-2000 03:57 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:34 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com