Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-20-2020, 12:29 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,420
Default Waves Offering 2nd License to all current WUP holders

Apparently Waves has announced they're making a 2nd license available for any current Waves plugin owners, for any plugs under the WUP plan.
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-20-2020, 04:03 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,957
Default Re: Waves Offering 2nd License to all current WUP holders

That was available before this as well. All you needed to do was install to one machine, then claim your installation was destroyed and install to another machine. You could do this once for every 1 year of WUP.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-21-2020, 09:42 AM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,977
Default Re: Waves Offering 2nd License to all current WUP holders

Hmmm...Not bad.

That will probably get me to renew my WUP for my Mercury and SSL bundles, since I'm going to be adding a second workstation soon.
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
Head Audio/A1 - Blue Man Group North American Tour
www.justicebigler.com

Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Protools vanilla 2021.7
2018 MacBook Pro: six-core i9, 32GB, 1TB, Catalina / HD|Native-TB / Protools Ultimate 2021.7, DAPS, L-ISA Studio

Home/mobile: Focusrite Red 8Pre / Clarett 4Pre / DVS
Road/hotel: Roland OctaCaputre / Apogee One
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-21-2020, 10:27 AM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 2,513
Default Re: Waves Offering 2nd License to all current WUP holders

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCBigler View Post
Hmmm...Not bad.

That will probably get me to renew my WUP for my Mercury and SSL bundles, since I'm going to be adding a second workstation soon.

Be careful. Unless I misunderstood the announcement, the second license only remains active for the duration of your WUP. In other words, it’s only active for one year.

So unless you reWUP over and over again every year, that additional license disappears and you’re back to having one license which isn’t ideal if you rely on the second license for an additional active machine.


From the PR:

All Waves plugin and bundle purchases come with one year of the Waves Update Plan. This means that starting today, all Waves plugin and bundle purchases also come with a second license for one full year.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-21-2020, 11:32 AM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,977
Default Re: Waves Offering 2nd License to all current WUP holders

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
Be careful. Unless I misunderstood the announcement, the second license only remains active for the duration of your WUP. In other words, it’s only active for one year.

So unless you reWUP over and over again every year, that additional license disappears and you’re back to having one license which isn’t ideal if you rely on the second license for an additional active machine.
Yeah I read that. But at least it gives some incentive to actually stay WUPed. And I do need to renew to update to v11 anyway. Seems like a better option than buying a second Mercury Bundle (or Horizon or Diamond for that matter).
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
Head Audio/A1 - Blue Man Group North American Tour
www.justicebigler.com

Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Protools vanilla 2021.7
2018 MacBook Pro: six-core i9, 32GB, 1TB, Catalina / HD|Native-TB / Protools Ultimate 2021.7, DAPS, L-ISA Studio

Home/mobile: Focusrite Red 8Pre / Clarett 4Pre / DVS
Road/hotel: Roland OctaCaputre / Apogee One
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade Plan or Subscription is current but new license not deposited for 12.6/later thanos4 Licensing & Accounts 450 03-31-2017 12:50 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:53 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com