Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-30-2012, 06:04 PM
mkpascucci mkpascucci is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 3
Default Pro Tools could not initialize the current playback device

Pro Tools could not initialize the current playback device. Please make sure device in configured correctly.

I get this message every time Pro Tools starts up. This never happened until i got my digi 002. It started up and i even recorded with it. once. Since that one time i have gotten this message upon start up and after i get this message pro tools quits.

I have re-installed pro tools and the digi 002 family drivers twice now and it continues to happen.

this is very annoying. can anyone give me a hand?

m
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-30-2012, 08:38 PM
Ragan Ragan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Seattle
Posts: 7
Default Re: Pro Tools could not initialize the current playback device

I had this happening and found a solution. I'll dig up the link and post it when I get home.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-30-2012, 10:05 PM
Ragan Ragan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Seattle
Posts: 7
Default Re: Pro Tools could not initialize the current playback device

I did this and it let me launch PT and get out of the cycle of that error msg. Hasn't happened since.




http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...oting/en381131
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-30-2012, 10:28 PM
AfterJohn AfterJohn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 194
Default Re: Pro Tools could not initialize the current playback device

Hold down the N key when you start Pro Tools.
__________________
MacBook Pro 2.2 GHz Core i7 4GB RAM 10.8.5, PT 10.3.4, Waves v9.1, Duet 2

redtuxedo.com
milkmoneyconsulting.com
mindexpansiontechnology.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-01-2012, 05:00 PM
mkpascucci mkpascucci is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 3
Default Re: Pro Tools could not initialize the current playback device

hey Thanks guys. it seems to be working now! much appreciated!

Rock on

MKP
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools could not initialize the current playback device. Please make sure that the filattan macOS 3 11-01-2015 08:02 PM
Pro Tools could not initialize the current playback device (on 10.2.0) Cosme macOS 1 07-18-2012 07:45 PM
Protools cannot initialize current playback device......HELP!!!!! weedrock macOS 3 11-01-2011 08:47 AM
PT 9 won't start up: could not initialize current playback device edwinh Pro Tools 9 28 08-02-2011 04:16 PM
Pro Tools could not initialize the current playback device johnwesleybarker macOS 2 01-14-2011 06:52 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:29 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com