Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-14-2011, 02:48 PM
johnwesleybarker johnwesleybarker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Blandford Forum, Dorset, England
Posts: 83
Default Pro Tools could not initialize the current playback device

I've been greeted by this a few times:
Pro Tools could not initialize the current playback device. Please make sure that the device has een configured correctly.
It happens if I've used my M-Audio device when last using Pro Tools 9 then later try to use it with Core Audio.



Any idea how to stop this?

Trashing the file Library>Preferences>com.digidesign.ProTools.plist worked when I first got this, but now it doesn't.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-14-2011, 05:01 PM
johnwesleybarker johnwesleybarker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Blandford Forum, Dorset, England
Posts: 83
Default Re: Pro Tools could not initialize the current playback device

I did a clean install of 9.0 then the supplied new driver and now it's good. Going to 9.0.1 next.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-14-2011, 06:52 PM
johnwesleybarker johnwesleybarker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Blandford Forum, Dorset, England
Posts: 83
Default Re: Pro Tools could not initialize the current playback device

OK... now I've found:

http://avid.custkb.com/avid/app/self...3=1078&Hilite=

... and shall try the advice.

Hold the 'n' key

Trash....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools could not initialize the current playback device. Please make sure that the filattan macOS 3 11-01-2015 08:02 PM
Pro Tools could not initialize the current playback device (on 10.2.0) Cosme macOS 1 07-18-2012 07:45 PM
Pro Tools could not initialize the current playback device mkpascucci macOS 4 05-01-2012 05:00 PM
Protools cannot initialize current playback device......HELP!!!!! weedrock macOS 3 11-01-2011 08:47 AM
PT 9 won't start up: could not initialize current playback device edwinh Pro Tools 9 28 08-02-2011 04:16 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com