Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  ē  Community Terms of Use  ē  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  ē  Community Search  ē  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-14-2021, 06:37 PM
ajazzie ajazzie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 751
Default Is it worth keeping PT10?

He all,
Just need a few opinions please.

Is it worth reinstalling a laptop back to win 7 to run Protools 10 as to keep my old Control 24 in service? Or even dual boot?

I have made a change to a different DAW after 25 years for various reasons and canít find myself leaving the 24.

As Iíve never run pt on a laptop I figure I can use pt 10 that from all accounts is pretty stable, can still use vst and can run my control 24.

I probably wonít use it as my main system but is it worth a try? Most of my sessions are only 20-30 tracks so it shouldnít struggle too much.

Just thoughts, Iím not easily offended :)
__________________
A Gentleman is one who can play the bagpipes, yet chooses not to.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-14-2021, 07:04 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,569
Default Re: Is it worth keeping PT10?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ajazzie View Post
canít find myself leaving the 24
seems you answered your own question
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-15-2021, 12:26 AM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,730
Default Re: Is it worth keeping PT10?

To keep your Control|24 alive, take a look at this, and try the demo.
https://neyrinck.com/v-control-pro/

I recommend it highly, and I have no affiliation with the company. The company owner Paul Neyrinck is very responsive with technical help.
My Pro Control works with Pro Tools 2021.7, Logic Pro X, Ableton Live, and many others.
With Logic I even get an 8-character scribble strip (dunno how they managed that one), but Pro Tools is only 4 characters. Meters, Faders, Mutes, Solos, Transport, all work perfectly - albeit with a slight reduction in fader-resolution for Pro Tools.
The Pro Control button quality and layout is still second to none, and makes many modern control surfaces look like a joke - particularly some of the modern Avid offerings such as the S3 with truly absurd design elements as Select & Record Arm Buttons between faders (I kid you not)

Last edited by Tweakhead; 10-15-2021 at 08:11 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-15-2021, 10:57 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,390
Default Re: Is it worth keeping PT10?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tweakhead View Post
To keep your Control|24 alive, take a look at this, and try the demo.
https://neyrinck.com/v-control-pro/

I recommend it highly, and I have no affiliation with the company. The company owner Paul Neyrinck is very responsive with technical help.
My Pro Control works with Pro Tools 2021.7, Logic Pro X, Ableton Live, and many others.
With Logic I even get an 8-character scribble strip (dunno how they managed that one), but Pro Tools is only 4 characters. Meters, Faders, Mutes, Solos, Transport, all work perfectly - albeit with a slight reduction in fader-resolution for Pro Tools.
The Pro Control button quality and layout is still second to none, and makes many modern control surfaces look like a joke - particularly some of the modern Avid offerings such as the S3 with truly absurd design elements as Select & Record Arm Buttons between faders (I kid you not)
^^^ this ^^^ The Pro Control is a great control surface.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-16-2021, 08:54 AM
ajazzie ajazzie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 751
Default Re: Is it worth keeping PT10?

Thanks all.
Great advice. I just downloaded the latest pt trial along with v pro control.

Sort of a godsend for me and even this latest version of protools seems snappy,
If only I could sort my vst plugs????

Is that still possible???

Thanks again!!!!
__________________
A Gentleman is one who can play the bagpipes, yet chooses not to.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-16-2021, 09:56 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,309
Default Re: Is it worth keeping PT10?

What VST plugins do you have that are not available as AAX64? In any case, BlueCat's Patchwork and MB7 can both host VST's
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-23-2021, 06:51 PM
ajazzie ajazzie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 751
Default Re: Is it worth keeping PT10?

To all.. Thank you!!

An update of what Iíve done if anyone is thinking of the same things or in the same position I was and really concerned/ confused.

I have upgraded to the latest Protools and V pro control.

The system was a little buggy for the first couple of days until I tweaked it and now Iím back where I was in the land of happy and feeling itís stable
The Control 24 is back and although a few features are not there fully you kinda donít notice as itís very close to how it was. If you are not sure about V Pro Control try the demo but be sure itís the fully functioning demo and the old surface comes back from the dead. I only wish digi/ avid had done it.

As for my plug-ins I have used Metaplugin and I am back to normal. That was a dilemma as I have some rare type plugs that probably most would find useless or unseen yet Iíve found simple ways in 25 years to make things work for me and quite possibly created chains that although are non conventional just work.

My system is running off a laptop on Windows, canít believe I left Mac but itís working well, the 32 ram helps or should I say is the only way to go if you want to stabilise this for bigger sessions.

I have opened old sessions with 40 or so tracks that contain a lot of plugs and they although are not massive they are stable and snappy.

I still have a copy of Reaper which I use, that said after all my dislikes with the way Avid is going I am so happy Iím still on protools as my main.

Itís difficult to make the switch to reaper although it is really quite unbelievable how it runs. I have the control 24 working with that too
Once I got this set up it was really like falling back into my comfort zone.

So there the update.
Thanks for the help everyone, Its been a nuts year or so working which piece is compatible with this and that though Iíve got there in the end.

:)
__________________
A Gentleman is one who can play the bagpipes, yet chooses not to.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-25-2021, 09:23 AM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,730
Default Re: Is it worth keeping PT10?

Thanks for the follow-up ajazzie !
We rarely get that here, and it's nice to hear that something worked out.

You might wanna check out this freebie opensource software too, to expand the capabilities of your system (if you have a spare computer):
https://audiogridder.com/
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-26-2021, 09:00 AM
ajazzie ajazzie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 751
Default Re: Is it worth keeping PT10?

Tweakhead
Thanks for the kind words.

This looks like a very interesting concept by using second machines.
Iíll be sure to follow this to see where it goes. I used to do similar things with a drawing program years ago, Linux was my choice back then and was kinda amazing on old pentiums.

Shows my age 😂

Youíve been on this forum about the same time as I have. Itís changed for sure.

Good to see a familiar vintage.


Take care. 🙂

Aj
__________________
A Gentleman is one who can play the bagpipes, yet chooses not to.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is X-form worth keeping? realizment General Discussion 1 10-24-2014 07:47 PM
MBox 2 worth keeping? nhirst 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 02-03-2014 02:27 AM
USB-3 Drive for Mac ....worth keeping ? Jay_uk Storage Subsystems 3 08-11-2011 01:08 PM
TLM 103? wondering if it's worth keeping? brinaddison Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 11-18-2004 03:42 PM
Is the Audiomedia III card worth keeping? Imagine Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 10-17-2001 08:19 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:27 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com