Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Dev > Pro Tools Scripting SDK Toolkit
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 04-28-2023, 11:41 PM

Default How to use SDK with Pro Tools Intro

I'm brand new to RPC in general, so I don't know how to use the sdk to process commands with the software. Can someone point me in the right direction in terms of how I can make my app use the sdk to process commands? I must build it first? Thanks!
Old 05-01-2023, 10:27 AM
Avid

Default Re: How to use SDK with Pro Tools Intro

Hello,

Yes, the Pro Tools Scripting SDK works with all levels of Pro Tools including Pro Tools Intro.

If you are creating a client app using C++ then you can use the Pro Tools Scripting SDK's included C++ Client Wrapper, which will provide a C++ interface for all of the RPC with Pro Tools. Look at the CppPTSLClient class in the SDK for details about this interface.

To build the C++ Client Wrapper, use the build_cpp_ptsl_sdk.py build script as described in the main page of the SDK documentation.

The SDK includes an example C++ client application, ptslcmd, which you can reference to see how a client interacts with the C++ Client Wrapper.

If you are using a client written in a different language then you will need to interact more directly with the RPC system. The Pro Tools Scripting SDK uses gRPC, and any language that is supported by gRPC and Google Protocol Buffers may be used. The PTSL.proto file contains the specification for the Pro Tools Scripting SDK client communication with Pro Tools.

I hope this helps,
Rob
Old 05-03-2023, 01:56 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by rmajors View Post
Hello,

Yes, the Pro Tools Scripting SDK works with all levels of Pro Tools including Pro Tools Intro.