Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Old 05-19-2013, 03:15 PM

Default Pro Tools 9 on Retina MacBook graphics issue

Hi everyone,

I´ve just entered this forum hoping that you are able to help me with a problem concerning Protools 9.0.6 running on the latest MacBook Pro Retina (Early 2013, OS X 10.8.3). Forgive me, if I am posting my questions in the wrong part of the forum.

Since I am a student, I did purchase ProTools 9 some time ago with an EDU license. It all went well on my 2011 Macbook Pro but since switching to the Retina machine a lot went wrong.

Mainly, I am experiencing various kinds of graphic issues. I am not able to upload pictures here so I will try to explain it as good as I can:

Firstly, the overall resolution of the application is bad (as far as I know, this is a typical problem with non-retina-optimized applications). The GUI, the texts and the buttons look like a bad 240p YouTube Video. Some would call that "pixlerated".

Secondly, when I try to insert a plugin, white stripes appear as an overlay of the pop-up menus.

I´ve installed all the latest drivers (Cuda, (OpenCL) and tried to reinstall ProTools. Except from the graphic issues, the app runs fine and my iLok works without problems.

I hope that I don´t need to by the recent version of the software...

Your answers are very much appreciated!
Regards from Germany
meisterammac
Old 05-19-2013, 05:20 PM

Lightbulb Re: Pro Tools 9 on Retina MacBook graphics issue

Do the EDU licenses come with 4 years of upgrades for no additional cost? If so, get a copy of v10.3.5 and see if your problems are resolved.