Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-05-2013, 11:53 AM
thierryhenry thierryhenry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: London
Posts: 135
Smile Volume Automation..

Yo peeps..

Quick question here, aimed at the experienced mix engineers:

Is it ok to do all my volume automation using clip gain?

I will stick my neck and say yes but I would rather do things the right way. So is this an ok thing to do? Seems like it would take less time and is more accurate due to visual referencing.


Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-05-2013, 12:01 PM
Meads Meads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,902
Default Re: Volume Automation..

Clip gain happens before the signal goes through the plugins, so "automating" it would result in your sound always changing, whenever you touch it (if you have level-sensitive plugins like compressors/deessers, etc).

Also you can't really automate it. You can't ramp, and it's overall not very handy to use it the way you would use volume automation.

I only use it for evening out levels, before I start mixing. It's fantastic for that, but I wouldn't use it for anything else.
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.6
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24 | S3 | Dock
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-05-2013, 01:01 PM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Volume Automation..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meads View Post
Clip gain happens before the signal goes through the plugins, so "automating" it would result in your sound always changing, whenever you touch it (if you have level-sensitive plugins like compressors/deessers, etc).

Also you can't really automate it. You can't ramp, and it's overall not very handy to use it the way you would use volume automation.

I only use it for evening out levels, before I start mixing. It's fantastic for that, but I wouldn't use it for anything else.
You can do pretty much anything with clip gain that you can do with volume automation, except recording fader moves to the clip gain line. Use the pencil to draw whatever ramps and curves you like. Only thing I miss is the ability to cut a clip gain selection to make a linear ramp.

But, like you said, clip gain is pre-inserts, so one should have this in mind.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-05-2013, 01:09 PM
Meads Meads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,902
Default Re: Volume Automation..

Quote:
Originally Posted by PT Lover View Post
You can do pretty much anything with clip gain that you can do with volume automation.
Disagreed. You cannot say, that you could take your "automating workflow" from volume automation and transfer it 1:1 to clip gain.
Try using key commands like cmd+d or cmd+x. This will get you nowhere with clip gain.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PT Lover View Post
Use the pencil to draw whatever ramps and curves you like.
Yeah, well, you can do that.
But how convenient is drawing automation with the pencil tool? Maybe it's just me, but using mouse/trackball to draw levels is way too inaccurate.
Not everything one can do is worth doing, is it?
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.6
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24 | S3 | Dock
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-05-2013, 01:44 PM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default

I was a bit sloppy with the coloring and wording - my bad. I meant that using the pencil tool is pretty much the same between the two.

Convenience is quite personal, so I don't know what the OP find convenient. I use a console for automation work, and I will never go back. Still, it's nice to use clip gain on vocals so they hit the compressors just right.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-05-2013, 01:46 PM
Meads Meads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,902
Default Re: Volume Automation..

Quote:
Originally Posted by PT Lover View Post
Still, it's nice to use clip gain on vocals so they hit the compressors just right.
+1!
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.6
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24 | S3 | Dock
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting Volume Automation to Clip Gain = Higher Volume! EricWillhelm Pro Tools 10 8 11-01-2011 12:12 PM
FCP, OMF & volume automation idris Post - Surround - Video 9 09-03-2010 09:06 AM
volume automation cpt Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 02-12-2010 02:30 PM
Volume Automation Bezo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 12 11-10-2003 03:23 PM
volume automation ignored cyberdote Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 06-21-2000 03:59 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:27 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com