Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2021

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-28-2021, 08:32 AM
wkdreskin wkdreskin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: White Plains, NY
Posts: 19
Default Unrelenting clicking

Hi. Can't seem to persuade my PC to stop interfering with my recording and editing. Running current version of Pro Tools and I've followed all the optimization guidelines at https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...ndows-10-Guide. While I've got tons of software on my computer, I'm only running Pro Tools. Nevertheless, I hear intermittent clicking both when recording and when editing (appropriate adjustments to buffer size for each). Here are my specs. Anyone have a thought? Thanks in advance!

OS Name Microsoft Windows 10 Home
Version 10.0.19043 Build 19043
System Manufacturer Dell Inc.
System Model XPS 8900
System Type x64-based PC
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700 CPU @ 3.40GHz, 3408 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 4 Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 64.0 GB
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-28-2021, 09:24 AM
climber climber is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North Conway, NH
Posts: 402
Default Re: Unrelenting clicking

I don't see an interface listed?

sounds like it could be a clocking issue...
__________________
__________________
Al Hospers
bass, vocal, composer, engineer

CleverSounds Recording

------------------------------------------------------
OS X Catalina, Late 2013 MacPro, 6 core, 64 GB RAM, Orion Studio , PT2021, Slate Raven MTi2, ISA428, ADL600, Distressor, Grace 501, Dimedio, Obsidian, One LA, BAC500, Harrison 32 EQ, UAD2 OCTO, Focal 6 be, Auratones...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-28-2021, 09:34 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,153
Default Re: Unrelenting clicking

Compatibility info here.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-28-2021, 10:25 AM
wkdreskin wkdreskin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: White Plains, NY
Posts: 19
Default Re: Unrelenting clicking

Interface is Focusrite Scarlett USB. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-28-2021, 10:27 AM
wkdreskin wkdreskin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: White Plains, NY
Posts: 19
Default Re: Unrelenting clicking

As for compatibility, I'm using Windows 10 version 21H1 and Pro Tools 2021.7.0.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-28-2021, 10:54 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,688
Default Re: Unrelenting clicking

Run LatencyMon for 20 minutes or so to see what is causing the issue.

If there are no red flags with LatencyMon, then it may be a clocking issue.

Make sure in Control Panel>Sound that your onboard soundcard is the default for Windows Sounds/Audio on both the Playback and Record Tabs and disable any instance of your Focusrite. Then make sure the Pro Tools session and the Focusrite are using the same Sample Rate.

Also have a look at this Thread and do a search for Processor Affinity.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-28-2021, 04:17 PM
wkdreskin wkdreskin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: White Plains, NY
Posts: 19
Default Re: Unrelenting clicking

Just want to say thanks for all of these ideas. It's a preliminary report but, so far, the clicking seems to be gone.

Billy
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-28-2021, 04:45 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,688
Default Re: Unrelenting clicking

For anyone else who might have issues and finds this Thread, what cured the clicking?
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-28-2021, 05:13 PM
wkdreskin wkdreskin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: White Plains, NY
Posts: 19
Default Re: Unrelenting clicking

I think that separating out the Windows sound card from the Focusrite may just have done the trick. Someone mentioned using their Mackie One Knob, which I also have, and that allowed me to place an A/B switch for the cards.

Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-28-2021, 07:14 PM
kobi_dog kobi_dog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: adelaide sth australia
Posts: 34
Default Re: Unrelenting clicking

could be a wall socket loop thing? when it clicks is the fridge or something else turning on?
Try a new wall socket for your power, could be on a loop?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clicking! MindDead Pro Tools 12 2 12-30-2015 06:23 PM
DB-33 clicking omnipop Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 02-09-2009 12:06 PM
clicking and clicking... nostranger 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 01-21-2006 09:24 PM
clicking? TonyGoolah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 17 12-27-2005 12:23 PM
THANK GOD THE CLICKING IS GONE. stickstome2 General Discussion 0 01-24-2001 07:56 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:32 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com