Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-12-2012, 10:26 AM
mgmazzei mgmazzei is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: 1142 Nevada Street
Posts: 76
Default SYNC I/O SMPTE and PT9 help

Friends I am having a problem with my Sync I/O and pt 9. I am trying to generate SMPTE so I can sync up my PT system to Digital Performer. I have not use Sync for a while so I think I might be missing a step. I have a Big Ben Master Clock in my set up, but for Sync to be used Apogee recommends letting Sync be the boss and then Big Ben can distribute the word clock to my other units. So, I hook up Sync to PT and use the BNC connector to connect to my Big Ben. Ben then distributes the Clock to my PT 192. In PT software I go to "session" and make sure I am synced and Locked. GREAT ... everything looks good. I can even control the Sync unit from PT. Now.... PT says go to Peripherals and click on enable Sync Peripheral... O.K ..Then Session for the rate.. Clock Ref is Internal. Now it says to click on the online button and Play... I don't think I am generating... The LTC out into DP does not show anything.... Does the front on the SYNC unit run the numbers? If I go to "sessions" should I see a running SMPTE? I don't!! I can't confirm that I am generating SMPTE.. I'm doing something wrong.... This should be simple so I know I missing something.. Any help..

Thanks
Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-12-2012, 06:25 PM
the dude's Avatar
the dude the dude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Burbank , Kalifornia, USA
Posts: 1,184
Default Re: SYNC I/O SMPTE and PT9 help

You need to enable "generate mode"
Also session is " online "
This will generate TC when you hit play

Look on front of sync IO there is a GEN mode LED
Is it on ?

You have a serial cable between sync io and core card?

Are you generating LTC or Serial TC?
__________________

•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
http://www.studio-techservices.com

าำ
studio.tech@yahoo.comm
Mitch Berger Tech Services




We service ALL Avid products no Problem
HD192, 192, Omni, Control Surface, Pre, XMON, 192HD AD & DA / Accel Cards, Everything

ALL NEW HD192 AD -DA modification. the difference is incredible... no need to ship the entire unit , fast turn around

inquiry using link above
Repairs of SSL-Neve- Consoles and Repair ALL Modern & Vintage Gear
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-13-2012, 06:20 AM
mgmazzei mgmazzei is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: 1142 Nevada Street
Posts: 76
Default Re: SYNC I/O SMPTE and PT9 help

Many Thanks to the dude,
I was using the "online" button in PT ...wrong...... I found the sync buttons that tell SYNC to generate LTC AND MTC Thanks for the reply. I think i'm good... my stupid mistake... thanks for the help

Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can Mbox sync to midi timecode or smpte sync? greeneye 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 05-05-2004 08:47 AM
DVD/SMPTE sync Engramic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 14 05-23-2003 05:22 PM
Can this system sync to SMPTE? Dave Lang Digidesign Hardware & Software 1 04-09-2002 10:48 AM
SMPTE/MTC sync with 001 Choro 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-18-2001 08:33 PM
Can't Sync to SMPTE w/ MTP AV & PT 5.1 monkey tools Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 04-12-2001 05:05 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:57 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com