Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-03-2000, 04:32 PM
Rednroll Rednroll is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 25
Default Smpte/Midi Sync Interface?

What's everyone out there using to make Pro Tools Generate Midi Time Code so you can sync an external sequencer to Timecode or make Pro Tools chase to a video deck? I've currently been using MOTU midi interfaces, but now I want to upgrade to Win2k Pro, but can't because MOTU won't make drivers for Win2k, is there other options? Motu reminds me of another company that dragged it's feet on Windows support, I believe that company went by the name of Opcode and we all seen what happened to them. MOTU hasn't made any updated drivers for their midi interfaces on the PC side since 1998 and are bragging about it. Maybe a little help from everyone in this forum Emailing them, will get them off their asses and support PC users. If that doesn't work I need some suggestions to something that does support Win2k.

Contact them at:
techsupport@motu.com
upgrades@motu.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-04-2000, 12:18 AM
Wolfgang Eller Wolfgang Eller is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,132
Default Re: Smpte/Midi Sync Interface?

Try the Emagic AMT 8. Seriell, parallel,USB, PC Win 98, NT, 2000 and MAC. You can`t do anything wrong if you buy it.
Regards Wolfgang

------------------
Wolfgang Eller
SRS Mastering/Germany
WWW.SRS-Mastering.de
wolfgang-eller@srs-mastering.de
__________________
www.srs-mastering.de
Mac Pro 6.1-8core, OS 10.15, PT2021, HDX2, Sonnet Echo Express III-R, Madi Interface.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-08-2000, 05:22 AM
carbon carbon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: CA
Posts: 29
Default Re: Smpte/Midi Sync Interface?

I got rid of all my MOTU hardware due to the lack of Win2000 or NT drivers....
They can't write a windows driver to save their butt.....
Bought a RME Hammerfal Audio card and a new Midi Man Sport 8x8/smpte USB with WIN2k drivers.
Had that one for only a few days.....So far it's Rock solid........
Win 2000 is great.....too bad P-Tools will probably never run on Win2000......SUCK!!!!!
I believe they are waiting for the next version of Windows that combines NT/2000 and 98/ME codenamed Whistler.....

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-22-2001, 08:28 AM
Giulio Giulio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Italy
Posts: 134
Default Re: Smpte/Midi Sync Interface?

Just to let you know...
MOTU has just released all the Win2000 drivers. www.motu.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-24-2001, 09:32 AM
David Sumich's Avatar
David Sumich David Sumich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Daly City, CA USA
Posts: 362
Default Re: Smpte/Midi Sync Interface?

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR> I got rid of all my MOTU hardware due to the lack of Win2000 or NT drivers....
They can't write a windows driver to save their butt.....
Bought a RME Hammerfal Audio card and a new Midi Man Sport 8x8/smpte USB with WIN2k drivers.
Had that one for only a few days.....So far it's Rock solid........
Win 2000 is great.....too bad P-Tools will probably never run on Win2000......SUCK!!!!!
I believe they are waiting for the next version of Windows that combines NT/2000 and 98/ME codenamed Whistler..... <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Umm, what? Are you talking about PT LE? This forum is for PT TDM which does run on Win2k, so I can only guess that you are talking about PT LE.
[img]images/icons/confused.gif[/img]
__________________
David Sumich
Principal Applications Engineer
Avid
--------------------
We're only immortal for a limited time
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SMPTE and midi interface JimLap 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-11-2007 10:29 AM
Can Mbox sync to midi timecode or smpte sync? greeneye 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 05-05-2004 08:47 AM
dumb question but, MIDI/SMPTE interface Fritz Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 09-04-2002 12:44 AM
Smpte/Midi Sync Interface? Rednroll 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 10-09-2000 10:09 PM
Sync Processor's Tremolo to Midi Time Sync via Interface j_jayzatuc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-01-2000 12:08 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:52 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com