Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post    Community Terms of Use    Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search    Community Search    Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-09-2000, 09:33 AM
dadoland dadoland is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: San Juan Capistrano, CA, US
Posts: 22
Default Sound Cards - Why?

What do you use your SB soundcard for in your Digi system?

I'm wondering if I should get one. I have
two other PC's with soundcards in them and
am trying to find a reason for why I would
need one in my recording system since I've
got the 001.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-09-2000, 11:42 AM
QuikDraw QuikDraw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Azle, Texas, USA
Posts: 2,114
Default Re: Sound Cards - Why?

The only thing I use my SB Live! Value card for with PTLE is the MIDI synth. I'm too cheap to buy a real sound module! Other than that I can't think of a reason to have a soundcard with ProTools.

Mike
__________________
-- Mike
- MacBook Pro 15.4" (9,1) - 2.3 GHz i7 16GB RAM
- OS X 10.14.1 Mojave / Windows 10 (Bootcamp) - PT running on Windows partition
- PreSonus Quantum 2
- PreSonus Studio 24c
- MBox 3 Mini
- Mackie Onyx 1640i
- PT 2020.12.1 (vanilla)
- Various USB2/3 and Firewire hard drives
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-09-2000, 01:59 PM
DigitalWaveform DigitalWaveform is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Washington D.C. Area
Posts: 155
Default Re: Sound Cards - Why?

some persons use other programs on the same computer to help create music, or even record music on PTLE while the composed music is being played on a program like Acid Pro or Mixman Studio Pro. you'll need a sound card to make these programs functional.

------------------
Сg Wvrm

[This message has been edited by DigitalWaveform (edited September 09, 2000).]
__________________
DigitalWaveform
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-09-2000, 07:04 PM
shaggy shaggy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: United States of Amnesia
Posts: 1,983
Default Re: Sound Cards - Why?

Quickdraw-

Can you route SBs' EMU soundengine to PTs inputs?
__________________
"The original nipper" Throw me a bone (Telefunken DI is ok too)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-09-2000, 08:40 PM
QuikDraw QuikDraw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Azle, Texas, USA
Posts: 2,114
Default Re: Sound Cards - Why?

Shaggy,

I don't know what you mean by EMU soundengine.

What I am doing is connecting the SB digital out connector to my RCA S/PDIF input on the Digi 001. This allows me to hear the SB's MIDI output in PTLE. I can choose, for each MIDI track in PTLE, which of the SB synths to use. If I choose either "A: SB Live! MIDI Synth" or "B: SB Live! MIDI Synth" I hear the synth with whatever soundfonts I have loaded.

For the Digital Out to work I must set the Creative mixer to "digital output only" in the Advanced playback options. I also mute all outputs in the Creative mixer except the MIDI device since the other sources are fairly noisy, and you'll hear them all in the digital ouput if not muted.

Hope this addresses your question satisfactorily.

Mike
__________________
-- Mike
- MacBook Pro 15.4" (9,1) - 2.3 GHz i7 16GB RAM
- OS X 10.14.1 Mojave / Windows 10 (Bootcamp) - PT running on Windows partition
- PreSonus Quantum 2
- PreSonus Studio 24c
- MBox 3 Mini
- Mackie Onyx 1640i
- PT 2020.12.1 (vanilla)
- Various USB2/3 and Firewire hard drives
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-09-2000, 09:26 PM
dadoland dadoland is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: San Juan Capistrano, CA, US
Posts: 22
Default Re: Sound Cards - Why?

Thanks for the help.

Question 2:

What's the purpose of the using the midi sounds off of the soundcard? click? not having to hook up all the gear?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-09-2000, 09:29 PM
dadoland dadoland is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: San Juan Capistrano, CA, US
Posts: 22
Default Re: Sound Cards - Why?

Oops. I just saw the "too cheap to buy a synth reply.

Cool, thanks. Out
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-10-2000, 05:05 PM
shaggy shaggy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: United States of Amnesia
Posts: 1,983
Default Re: Sound Cards - Why?

Quickdraw.

A man with a patch cord readily at hand, is a man prepared.

That was exactly what I was interested in.

Creative has been joined at the hip with EMU for a long while now. The SB live card has (I believe) a 64 voice EMU sound engine onboard and the s/pdif outs you referred to.

I am looking into the possibility of going to a .pc 001 system and that sound card would come in handy for extra voices. Also I would like to get ACID going.

It all depends on Millenium compatibility. I won't touch 98 (too much of that at work)

What kind of plug-in count do you fellows get?
__________________
"The original nipper" Throw me a bone (Telefunken DI is ok too)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-11-2000, 01:40 PM
MikeD MikeD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Sioux Falls, SD, USA
Posts: 179
Default Re: Sound Cards - Why?

I recently received an Email from Kind of Loud regarding RealVerb RTAS for PC. They said they are working on it but do not have an estimated time of arrival in stores at this time. I heard this reverb plug in is cool. I can only hope
__________________
Mike Dresch
Cathouse Productions
www.elbo.net/cathouse
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-11-2000, 06:08 PM
shaggy shaggy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: United States of Amnesia
Posts: 1,983
Default Re: Sound Cards - Why?

So the 5.01 disc I have is 5.0 for Win98?

FWIW- On a 400mhz G-3 (B+W) I can get 4 D-Verbs.

But are you at 24 bit?

Alkali (rex) is still not happening for Digi Macs. What's the word with ACID?

__________________
"The original nipper" Throw me a bone (Telefunken DI is ok too)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sound cards gref Pro Tools 10 9 02-24-2013 10:26 PM
SOUND CARDS whitetar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-14-2008 03:34 AM
Two sound cards? deejfro 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 09-11-2004 04:10 PM
Sound Cards Princeton 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 01-01-2002 10:11 AM
sound cards RDOG 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 10-03-2000 09:06 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com