Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-02-2011, 01:07 PM
BrianJArmstrong BrianJArmstrong is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 115
Default VCA vs. Buses

I wanted to start a discussion about pros and cons of VCAs and busses.

When do you prefer one vs. the other? Do you only use one and not the other?

I do a lot of post production work and always have stems to think about during final output. VCAs are great for certain things, but when it comes time to do a bounce, instead of having to bounce each stem real time, I like to set up busses so I can record all stems at once internally and export regions as files after the fact. Does that pretty much make VCAs redundant?

At the same time, it could be nice not to have to touch the busses and just use VCAs to control overall level. Like I said before, it just seems redundant/unnecessary to have a VCA controlling all the faders that go into a bus.

I'm thinking busses are still my best bet, but am welcoming others' input.

Thanks!!

Brian
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-02-2011, 01:32 PM
lexaudio lexaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: LA
Posts: 1,034
Default Re: VCA vs. Buses

I use busses mostly in Post because you can put inserts on them.
Most do since all the busses make up the mix, and you can punch them all at the same time.

VCA's can be handy for certain things depending on your workflow.

I use the VCA's for OMF's mostly.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-02-2011, 02:50 PM
bad jitter bad jitter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Tellus
Posts: 1,383
Default Re: VCA vs. Buses

I use both. VCAs control channels going into busses.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-02-2011, 04:42 PM
fakir_cz fakir_cz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 226
Default Re: VCA vs. Buses

Quote:
Originally Posted by bad jitter View Post
I use both. VCAs control channels going into busses.
+1. I use both in the same way. Track groups (dia, sfx, music, etc.) are sent to appropriate busses where any group processing is going on, and the VCA's control level of each group. This way you get rid of the post-fader send problem (i.e. send to a reverb - you lower the Aux level, but post-fader sends are relative to a channel faders, which haven't moved, so the send level remains the same, resulting in too much reverb in the mix), which is good, but introduce another one with dynamics processing on the Aux Input (the level of VCA-controlled tracks is pre-insert on the Aux). So it's good to know about it.

VCA's are also great for soloing or muting different stems/groups. It's quite hard to do it (comfortably) without them.
__________________
BcA. Tomas Vitha
Sound Designer and Mixer

2010 Mac Pro 8-core Westmere, OS X 10.6.6, PT HD 9.0.3, Mbox 2 Pro, C|24
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buses in PT 9 Media Man Pro Tools 9 17 01-13-2011 01:05 PM
How many buses should I have in LE 8? Badertime@hotmail.com 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 09-25-2010 02:39 PM
More Buses on PT LE 7.4 ! Alkimera 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-05-2008 04:23 AM
buses rageagainst Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 07-23-2005 12:19 PM
What is buses? Gulliver Digidesign Hardware & Software 1 12-29-2000 01:09 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:23 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com