Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Aspera DigiDelivery

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-09-2010, 02:13 PM
tonepad tonepad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SoCal USA
Posts: 834
Default Odd DD behavior with wireless DL

For some reason when my Foley team sends me a link to DL I can't use one of my 2 wireless nodes on my network. I can only use the "main" wireless modem not my my "remote" node. I get a failure notice when I try the DL on the "remote" node, but it's fine on the "main". This situation only happens from my Foley team. I can DL from my sound editing team, picture department, music etc...Quicktimes, OMF's, PTF's, single files, folders...you name it.

I've been asking my Foley mixer if there is anything different that he does, since it has just now happened again from a different facility, but so far I can't determine that he's doing anything different in PT.

If anyone has an idea or suggestion, I'm all ears. Thanks in advance.
__________________
My day job:

Wilson Dyer MPSE
Sound Supervisor: NCIS Los Angeles, CBS Television
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-09-2010, 02:18 PM
tonepad tonepad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SoCal USA
Posts: 834
Default Re: Odd DD behavior with wireless DL

Forgot to mention this is with either PPC and/or Intel Macs, laptops and/or desktops, OS 10.5.8 and/or 10.4.11.
__________________
My day job:

Wilson Dyer MPSE
Sound Supervisor: NCIS Los Angeles, CBS Television
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-09-2010, 02:31 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,716
Default Re: Odd DD behavior with wireless DL

DD isn't supported with wi-fi. Never has been. Wireless connections can have a greater packet loss than can be tolerated by the delivery data structure.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Mac Studio, 64GB RAM, 1 TB SSD, Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mac OS Monterey 12.6.

Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.9, HD Native, Focusrite Red 8Pre (Mac)
Pro Tools 2020.12, Mbox3 (Win)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-09-2010, 03:14 PM
tonepad tonepad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SoCal USA
Posts: 834
Default Re: Odd DD behavior with wireless DL

Hmm then how is it that I can DL gigs a week on either of my two wireless nodes...not to mention UL's too? Not giving attitude, just curious, because my weekly traffic is 20-30 GB, mostly down but 5-10 up.

It's only the Foley DL that is an issue.
__________________
My day job:

Wilson Dyer MPSE
Sound Supervisor: NCIS Los Angeles, CBS Television
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-09-2010, 03:53 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,716
Default Re: Odd DD behavior with wireless DL

Maybe you're just too good looking for it not to work.

802.11 a,b, and g all have very poor error detection and correction. 802.11n has more robust correction, so perhaps your success and failure can be traced to differences in protocol.

Historically though, whenever I've been asked to troubleshoot a DD upload/download problem, if they were on a wi-fi connection, moving to ethernet solved it.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Mac Studio, 64GB RAM, 1 TB SSD, Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mac OS Monterey 12.6.

Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.9, HD Native, Focusrite Red 8Pre (Mac)
Pro Tools 2020.12, Mbox3 (Win)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-09-2010, 08:22 PM
tonepad tonepad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SoCal USA
Posts: 834
Default Re: Odd DD behavior with wireless DL

Good lookin...hmmm that can't be it Must be that the "main" wireless is an 'n' modem...at least AFAIK...and the "remote" def 'g', using an access point and a Ethernet bridge. Might be time for an upgrade of those 2 devices. Besides good looks, $$ fixes almost everything!

Thnks for the insight!
__________________
My day job:

Wilson Dyer MPSE
Sound Supervisor: NCIS Los Angeles, CBS Television
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wireless jeffreyj 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 04-25-2011 08:49 PM
wireless mouse? yanncrusoe 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 10-08-2007 03:06 PM
wireless headphones SpongeBob SquarePants General Discussion 7 03-13-2007 10:57 AM
wireless in ear monitors Earl D 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 06-27-2005 10:11 PM
WIRELESS???? Lee Blaske Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 03-03-2002 08:27 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:52 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com