Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-13-2007, 03:52 AM
Black doG Black doG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sydney OZ
Posts: 2
Default Digi 002 rack firewire problems

Hi folks,
Long time protools user, first time post on these forums...

Trouble is: My Protools can't see my hardware on startup when it is switched on and connected. On the back of the rack the little green LED for the firwire conncetion lights up when the unit is powered up and switches off almost immediately after. When I switch the unit off and on again, the light comes back on only to switch off again... I had this problem before I upgraded to version 7 and it disappeared for a while with the upgrade, til now. I have not used protools in several months, and am very frustrated for the lack of continuity...

FYI, I'm running: Protools LE 7.1 / Digi 002 rack/ Mac G5 MP 2.5ghz/ OS 10.4.7 /3.5 gb ram

I hope you can offer some insight into my nightmare...

Thanks in advance,
Charles
__________________
Mastery through ignorance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-13-2007, 05:22 AM
steppenwolf68 steppenwolf68 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 213
Default Re: Digi 002 rack firewire problems

Charles, it looks like you suffer from the well known POWER HARNESS problem (you can do a search on the DUC).
Solution: Contact DIGI Support they will send you you a free replacement kit. This will solve the problem.

P.S. if the replacement kit doesn't solve the problem then you might have burned out your
Firewire ports on the 002 (due to hot plugging).
In this case you must sent in your unit to a DIGI approved repair shop ($).
But more likely it's the Power Harness thing.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Issues with FireWire on Digi 002 Rack obiwanws2 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 39 08-09-2010 11:35 AM
PTLE 8 + iMac + 003 rack + firewire 800 ports, problems sos4e 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 23 09-05-2009 07:11 PM
002 Rack - firewire problems elankf1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-26-2009 09:37 AM
Digi 002 Rack Firewire problem Tomibrod 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 12-21-2007 10:08 AM
DIGI 002 RACK + FIREWIRE HUB = PROBLEMS? waterbedman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 12-07-2004 12:53 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:46 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com