Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-20-2008, 10:22 AM
Tbassist4 Tbassist4 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 16
Default Best way of expanding number of XLR inputs?

Hello everyone,
Now that Pro Tools 7.4.2 is out, I'll be purchasing a 003 Factory Rackmount within the next few weeks. Everything about the 003 looks great, the only thing I need is more XLR inputs. What is the best way to add more? Ideally I'd like to expand to 12-16 total, including the 4 that are already on the 003. I've heard one way to do this is to buy a preamp and connect it to the 003 with ADAT lightpipe. Is this the usual route? What do you suggest?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-20-2008, 11:53 AM
Naagzh Naagzh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,175
Default Re: Best way of expanding number of XLR inputs?

Quote:
Hello everyone,
Now that Pro Tools 7.4.2 is out, I'll be purchasing a 003 Factory Rackmount within the next few weeks. Everything about the 003 looks great, the only thing I need is more XLR inputs. What is the best way to add more? Ideally I'd like to expand to 12-16 total, including the 4 that are already on the 003. I've heard one way to do this is to buy a preamp and connect it to the 003 with ADAT lightpipe. Is this the usual route? What do you suggest?
Yep, that's the usual route. Check out Presonus Digimax, Focusrite Octopre, M-Audio Octane, Behringer AD8000 (if you're on a budget).

By the by, "XLR inputs" can be mic level or line level. To accept a micprophone signal, a microphone "preamp" (which is essentially a microphone amplifier) has a mic level input. The preamp then performs the amplification necessary to make a microphone's signal strong enough to record, and outputs the signal as line level.

XLR cables are typically balanced, meaning that the cable is actually 3 cables in one: a positive, negative, and ground. The positive and negative cables are wrapped around each other, and the ground cable surrounds (shields) the two. This is why there are 3 pins on an XLR connector.

The positive and negative cables actually carry identical signals, except that they are 180 degrees out of phase. In this way, any noise in the positive cable is cancelled by the out-of-phase noise in the negative cable.

Usually, 1/4 inch (TRS) inputs are line level, but TRS cables can be balance or unbalanced (the cable only carries positive and ground). Unbalanced cables are fine for short distances, but over long runs the signal can degrade and is susceptible to noise and interference. 15 feet is usually the maximum.
__________________
002R PT7.3.1
MacBook Pro 2.33
OS 10.4.8
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-20-2008, 03:21 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,870
Default Re: Best way of expanding number of XLR inputs?

Also, check out the new Presonus D8 as it is less money than Digimax. The big diffeence is the D8 is lightpipe out ONLY so it will not work as a firewire interface directly to the computer for non-protools stuff. It is perfect for expanding the 003 and SHOULD sound better than the Behringer ADA8000. TRS cables are balanced. Unbalanced quarter inch (i.e. GUITAR CABLES) are unbalanced. Balanced TRS cables have the same noise characteristics as balanced mic cables using XLR connectors. The noise cancelling function is usually referred to as CCMR or common mode rejection. If you plug a guitar cable into a TRS jack, you will defeat the balanced feature but it usually works fine as long as cable length is kept under 18'.(shorter the better)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-21-2008, 12:01 AM
Tbassist4 Tbassist4 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 16
Default Re: Best way of expanding number of XLR inputs?

Awesome! Thanks so much!

Is there a difference in sound between the 8 XLR inputs on the preamp and the 4 on the 003? Will the quality match or will it be noticeably worse?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-21-2008, 01:46 PM
montelee montelee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 54
Default Re: Best way of expanding number of XLR inputs?

Quote:

Is there a difference in sound between the 8 XLR inputs on the preamp and the 4 on the 003? Will the quality match or will it be noticeably worse?
the studio at our school has a digidesign 002, and when we need more mic inputs, we use an M-audio octane preamp with optical connection to the 002. I can tell you that the Octane sounds very good, in fact the pre's in the Octane are better than the 002's.We almost always run vocal mics into the Octane because it has less noise,is more transparent, and what coloration it does add is desirable. Also, the AKG 414s and our Neumann mic are just about always run through the Octane, and it sounds fantastic recording acoustic instruments like piano or violin. I have not had the pleasure of using an 003, but I think you woulld be happy using an 003 with an Octane, based on my experience with the 002.Hope that helps.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-21-2008, 05:37 PM
Michael Hurwitz Michael Hurwitz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Francisco East Bay Area
Posts: 130
Default Re: Best way of expanding number of XLR inputs?

I'm using a Presonus Digimax FS - sounds great, sets up easy, perfect!
__________________
___________________________________

Pro Tools 2021 Ultimate - Native,
Mac Pro 2013-3.5 ghz, 6 Core and Macbook Pro-15"-i7, 2.2 GHz
UAD Apollo 16, UAD Apollo Twin Quad, Aphex 1788 Mic Pre's (16 channels), Presonus Digimax-FS, Hear Technologies Hearback, Dynaudio BM5A and BM9s Sub.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-24-2008, 12:58 PM
kidbazooka kidbazooka is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 94
Default Re: Best way of expanding number of XLR inputs?

I found the preamps in the Audient 008 to be far cleaner than any of the Presonus stuff. Just get the ADAT/Lightpipe version and you've instantly added 8 high quality XLR mic pres.
__________________
Hrdw: Modified 5,1 Mac Pro 12 core 3.46gHz, 64gb RAM, with Radeon RX580 video (Metal support), 2 UAD2 cards, Apogee Symphony (1st gen)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
expanding PJM I/O with more preamps/inputs carterobrien Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 5 01-11-2010 02:29 PM
increasing number of inputs - how do I do this? highhopes19 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 01-22-2006 06:24 PM
Increasing/Expanding Inputs on 002 LE system guitarman6 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-06-2005 09:44 AM
expanding inputs on the digi 001 Eric Miletich 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-13-2003 02:06 PM
Expanding Inputs Bob-sw 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 05-29-2003 12:19 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com