Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-07-2008, 05:00 PM
Tbassist4 Tbassist4 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 16
Default MIDI and Virtual Instrument Performance?

Hello,
I'm a big newbie to Pro Tools, so I'm sorry if this is terribly simple. I've set up an Instrument Track in a project, with a simple midi riff, and Native Instruments Kore Player 2, with the Bellatrix sample pad loaded. It seems to be taking much heavier of a toll on my system than I think it should. Warnings pop up telling me that either CPU usage is reaching its ceiling (set at 85% right now), or that I need to increase the HW buffer size, which is already set at 1024. I'm running a Macbook Pro 2.4 GHz Core 2 Duo with 2GB of ram and a Digi 003 Rackmount. I'm running Pro Tools 7.4.2 on Leopard.

With one patch, let alone 10, my computer should do just fine. I run Finale 2008 with sometimes over 30 simultaneous sample instruments loaded in Kontakt Player 2 with no problems in playback.

What settings do I have to change on my 003 to optimize my MIDI/Virtual Instrument performance? I'm sure that my problem lies more in my playback settings, rather than what my computer can handle.

Essentially, what needs to be set to what to have this run smoothly?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-07-2008, 05:34 PM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: MIDI and Virtual Instrument Performance?

Native Instruments statement on Leopard Compatibility
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-07-2008, 06:10 PM
Tbassist4 Tbassist4 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 16
Default Re: MIDI and Virtual Instrument Performance?

Thanks so much for the response.

That's really terrible. I guess I'll have to wait for the updates.

In the meantime, should I set up a Tiger Partition until everything is ready to move to Leopard? I know that it won't be able to run in 64 bit processing, would this slow things down a great deal, or would I still see good performance for my system?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT M-Powered 8 and MIDI to Virtual Instrument Von_Dingle Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 4 01-13-2009 03:13 PM
help! abysmal RTAS/virtual instrument performance on my MBP SamuelLJackson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-08-2008 11:07 PM
virtual instrument midi track problem acappellajosh MIDI 3 04-12-2006 09:53 AM
Odd Midi/Virtual Instrument Problems with PT7+ GlennR01 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 01-17-2006 06:43 PM
External midi key can't control virtual instrument Riccardo Corbari Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 10-09-2005 03:11 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:02 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com