Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Old 12-05-2010, 04:43 PM

Default Do not understand how to get recorded audio to playback, need help.

Hello:

I am a new Pro Tools LE 8 user and ex-Acid pro user. I am having a hard time getting the sound to play back. I have tried hooking the speakers up through the computer and when that didn't work, directly from my M-Box Pro outputs and still no dice. The Pro Tools audio is run through two Alesis powered studio speakers.

The interesting thing is I can get sound to come through my system when I am using the microphone live and recording but it won't play back what I have recorded. This happens either through the computers audio card or hooked directly into my speakers from the output ports on the M-Box. When I play back I see the meters moving so I am assuming I have recorded audio.

As of right now I am plugging my M-Box Pro into my computer via a fire wire and not into an external hard drive first as recommended. I don't know if that could effect the playback issue so I thought I'd mention it. I am kind of at my wits end and I feel somewhat foolish because I know it has to be something simple. What am I not doing correctly?

I am using Vista pro with an i core 7. Even so the machine is 64 bit, the Pro Tools application is running in 32 bit. I also have the latest 8.0.4 installed. I would appreciate greatly help on this matter. Thanks in advance. If you need more info I will be happy to get it to you asap.
Old 12-16-2010, 05:06 PM

Default Re: Do not understand how to get recorded audio to playback, need help.

I need to ask the "silly questions". Are you sure you have the outputs (1-2) for your interface assigned in the mix? Are you using a master fader for output?