Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-21-2003, 01:35 AM
yanskii yanskii is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4
Default Help with Audio Devices

Hi

I need some help setting up my PC. I have a Digidesign Audiomedia 111 soundcard and have just flattened my PC and installed Windows XP. I do not have Pro Tools or any of the other digidesign products - just the soundcard.

However, I cant seem to get the computer to recognise this soundcard in the Audio Playback and Record boxes in Audio Devices. I have downloaded 3 drivers - the Asio 6.1.1, the Wavedriver 6.1.1 and also tried the 5.3.3 wavedriver but the computer doesnt give me the option to choose my Digidesign soundcard as the default one. I have now even lost the option to choose the built in basic intel soundcard and the boxes are just blank.

I'm new to all this and dont really understand whats going on. Can you help please?

Thanks

Ian
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-21-2003, 09:13 AM
yanskii yanskii is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4
Default Re: Help with Audio Devices

(bump)

Please anyone??
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-21-2003, 09:21 AM
Cliffy_Boy's Avatar
Cliffy_Boy Cliffy_Boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,091
Default Re: Help with Audio Devices

PT 6.1 needs to be installed on the machine for the ASIO to work. You don't have to be running PT but the software must be installed
__________________
Cliff Stendel
-iMac 5K 32g
-PT12. HDX
-HD I/O 8x8x8. -HD Omni -Avid S3


-API 2500 -API 5500 -UA 2-1176 -UA 2-610
-Neve 1073, Chandler LTD-1 -Eventide H8000FW -Lexicon PCM96
-Bricasti M7. -Joe Meek channel.


-Waves Mercury, Flux all, Softube All, Plugin Alliance all, McDSP all, Sonnox All, MH production, Wave Arts,a bunch more
-Moog Voyager XL, Nord Piano, Hartmann Neuron, ARP Axxe, Gibson Les Paul, Mesa Boogie Roadster, Kemper, Taylor T5 and T5-12
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-21-2003, 09:31 AM
tele_player tele_player is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 6,557
Default Re: Help with Audio Devices


ASIO can be installed standalone, without PTLE installed - at least on 6.1.1

Quote:
PT 6.1 needs to be installed on the machine for the ASIO to work. You don't have to be running PT but the software must be installed
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, 4.5G RAM


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-21-2003, 09:38 AM
Cliffy_Boy's Avatar
Cliffy_Boy Cliffy_Boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,091
Default Re: Help with Audio Devices

tele - correct me if I'm wrong. ASIO can run standalone, but PT must installed.
__________________
Cliff Stendel
-iMac 5K 32g
-PT12. HDX
-HD I/O 8x8x8. -HD Omni -Avid S3


-API 2500 -API 5500 -UA 2-1176 -UA 2-610
-Neve 1073, Chandler LTD-1 -Eventide H8000FW -Lexicon PCM96
-Bricasti M7. -Joe Meek channel.


-Waves Mercury, Flux all, Softube All, Plugin Alliance all, McDSP all, Sonnox All, MH production, Wave Arts,a bunch more
-Moog Voyager XL, Nord Piano, Hartmann Neuron, ARP Axxe, Gibson Les Paul, Mesa Boogie Roadster, Kemper, Taylor T5 and T5-12
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-21-2003, 10:19 AM
tele_player tele_player is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 6,557
Default Re: Help with Audio Devices

Wrong. ASIO can be installed and used without PTLE.
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, 4.5G RAM


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-21-2003, 12:32 PM
yanskii yanskii is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4
Default Re: Help with Audio Devices

Sorry - I perhaps should have also said that I dont have 256MB of Ram so it comes up with an error when I try to install the ASIO.

I have now got it so it can play back with the Wavedriver 6.1.1. What about record?

Thanks

Ian
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-21-2003, 02:40 PM
Cliffy_Boy's Avatar
Cliffy_Boy Cliffy_Boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,091
Default Re: Help with Audio Devices

wavedriver is playback only. Tele is right about not needing to have PT installed for the ASIO. But, you will need PT installed to use the midi ports for standalone ASIO
__________________
Cliff Stendel
-iMac 5K 32g
-PT12. HDX
-HD I/O 8x8x8. -HD Omni -Avid S3


-API 2500 -API 5500 -UA 2-1176 -UA 2-610
-Neve 1073, Chandler LTD-1 -Eventide H8000FW -Lexicon PCM96
-Bricasti M7. -Joe Meek channel.


-Waves Mercury, Flux all, Softube All, Plugin Alliance all, McDSP all, Sonnox All, MH production, Wave Arts,a bunch more
-Moog Voyager XL, Nord Piano, Hartmann Neuron, ARP Axxe, Gibson Les Paul, Mesa Boogie Roadster, Kemper, Taylor T5 and T5-12
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
USB audio devices and P-T ? revere 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 09-05-2008 05:38 AM
audio devices and core audio keeps resetting! sammyd 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 08-11-2005 10:51 AM
what other M-Audio Devices? CharlesL Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 04-07-2005 06:01 PM
Help - Audio Devices yanskii General Discussion 0 10-20-2003 02:38 AM
Audio > Devices lazyrighteye Digidesign Hardware & Software 2 06-09-2001 07:33 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:29 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com