Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-24-2003, 09:43 AM
Jorge442 Jorge442 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Santiago, Chile
Posts: 1,242
Default video formats???

Hi everyone!!

long time no see!!

I´ve been working on a video for my band Primate using Premiere and Vegas.........thing is I want to render the final product to be seen on a regular DVD player. I tried the VCD feature on Nero but it compressed the video too much (from 500 Megs to 25!), looked crappy and the sound was out of synch......

as a matter of fact, I even have problems exporting as a ¨regular¨(uncompressed) AVI....I mean, it seems to work but my computer (WMP) won´t play it........

rendering as a windows media file works(on my PC), but the quality suffers........

what´sthe right way of doing it?

BTW, the video was captured at 728x480....the final video is B/W letterbox......



thanks!!!!


jorge
__________________
what a long, strange trip it´s been

www.abacomusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-24-2003, 11:45 AM
Matt Whritenour Matt Whritenour is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Posts: 2,031
Default Re: video formats???

are you going to be burning it onto a DVD?

if not ur gonna have the Crappy VCD quality on a CD

also the reason why ur computer cant play it uncompressed
is because your computers not fast enough...
there is so much information coming through in an uncrompressed
video file that most computers cant handle it
thats one of the reasons videos are compressed
__________________
www.klarityrecordingstudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-24-2003, 12:42 PM
Bastiaan Bastiaan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nederland
Posts: 6,916
Default Re: video formats???

windows media gives nice results.

VCD is actually a pretty low quality norm. You are better of using either DV-compression or something similar to DVD (MPEG2).

Good quality video will still be huge. Especially compared to audio.
__________________
What's that?
- That's the machine that goes "pling".


Bastiaan
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-24-2003, 02:21 PM
feliponk's Avatar
feliponk feliponk is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Miami, FL, USA
Posts: 1,250
Default Re: video formats???

If you don't have a DVD REcorder, try the SVCD option in Nero, it uses Mpeg2 compresion quality
__________________
Felipe Gonzalez A.
Avid ACSR Elite
Dante Certified
http://felipousismix.wix.com/felipousismix

Open Core Mac Pro OSX Ventura | ProTools HD 2023.x | Merging HAPI ADA8 | UAD Quad PCIe | Kali IN-8 | Presonus Temblor 10 | Softube, SSL, Universal Audio, Slate Digital, McDSP, Fabfilter, Plugin Alliance among other plugins
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-24-2003, 08:37 PM
Mr_Seven Mr_Seven is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fullerton, CA, USA
Posts: 1,588
Default Re: video formats???

In Premire Pro you just choose >file>export>to DVD.

It brings up a dialog box that steps you through 1 dialog box and a save window. That's it. It's super easy. I just burned a 28min video to DVD and it worked great on all my home DVD players. I was really pleased to find the output quality very good. Oh, just a hint, start the process at night and return to it in the morning
__________________
Darren Valen
Cyberdream Studios
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-25-2003, 04:18 AM
Jorge442 Jorge442 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Santiago, Chile
Posts: 1,242
Default Re: video formats???

Thanks for the replies!!

Darren, I do not have a DVD burner....will that option in Premiere still work??

I will also try that SVCD.....how good in MPEG2?

thanks again,

jorge

__________________
what a long, strange trip it´s been

www.abacomusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-25-2003, 07:10 AM
feliponk's Avatar
feliponk feliponk is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Miami, FL, USA
Posts: 1,250
Default Re: video formats???

Jorge: el MPEG2 es utilizado por el DVD para la compresión de vídeo. Utiliza la mejor razón de calidad/compresión y vé los resultados.
Felipe

[email protected]
__________________
Felipe Gonzalez A.
Avid ACSR Elite
Dante Certified
http://felipousismix.wix.com/felipousismix

Open Core Mac Pro OSX Ventura | ProTools HD 2023.x | Merging HAPI ADA8 | UAD Quad PCIe | Kali IN-8 | Presonus Temblor 10 | Softube, SSL, Universal Audio, Slate Digital, McDSP, Fabfilter, Plugin Alliance among other plugins
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-25-2003, 08:15 AM
Jorge442 Jorge442 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Santiago, Chile
Posts: 1,242
Default Re: video formats???

hey guys, I´m going to have to excuse myself a moment to reply to Felipe in Spanish. Thanks.



Hola Felipe, gracias!

voy a tratar lo del MPEG2 hoy mismo.............

ya volviste a Chile?? De qué parte eres? Yo estoy viviendo en Santiago. Viví en Florida por 13 años y tuve la oportunidad de grabar muchas bandas, incluyendo la mía y también aprendí a masterizar producciones profesionales. Desde que volví he mezclado y masterizado un par de CD´s de bandas chilenas y también realicé otros trabajos (una serie de CD´s de meditación)....me gustaría saber cuales son tus planes una vez que regreses, a lo mejor nos podríamos ayudar el uno al otro....

saludos!

jorge
__________________
what a long, strange trip it´s been

www.abacomusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-26-2003, 02:57 AM
Jorge442 Jorge442 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Santiago, Chile
Posts: 1,242
Default Re: video formats???

oh,man.......
I found the SVCD format in Nero, but it sez I have to buy the MPEG2 codec in order to use it :=(

Vegas requires registration......

In Premiere I do not have the option to export as MPEG either

I guess I have to register Vegas......




thanks!

jorge
__________________
what a long, strange trip it´s been

www.abacomusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-28-2003, 07:04 AM
feliponk's Avatar
feliponk feliponk is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Miami, FL, USA
Posts: 1,250
Default Re: video formats???

Jorge: I'm in Concón, Viña del Mar. If you want to contact me it, my email is [email protected].
By fish
__________________
Felipe Gonzalez A.
Avid ACSR Elite
Dante Certified
http://felipousismix.wix.com/felipousismix

Open Core Mac Pro OSX Ventura | ProTools HD 2023.x | Merging HAPI ADA8 | UAD Quad PCIe | Kali IN-8 | Presonus Temblor 10 | Softube, SSL, Universal Audio, Slate Digital, McDSP, Fabfilter, Plugin Alliance among other plugins
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video question 2: Changing video formats in session johnnyv Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 03-18-2010 09:56 AM
Video formats Fullsound Recording Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 4 10-07-2008 12:01 PM
Video Formats hughwes Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 08-18-2007 01:10 AM
How to use non quicktime video formats in PT? (((k))) 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 22 12-24-2003 08:21 PM
video formats Mr_Seven 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 18 06-25-2002 12:34 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com