Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 08-01-2022, 06:19 AM

Default Help using Cthulhu with hardware synth

Hi all - this is probably a basic question but I'm not very experienced with MIDI setups.

My goal: use the Cthulhu plugin to play arpeggios on my Prophet 5 (modern rev 4 version). I want to be able to do this live and I'm not sure how to set that up. Should I be using MIDI thru on the Prophet 5? In other words, I want to press notes on the physical keyboard and hear arpeggios played back based on whatever I've set it to in the plugin.

Is this possible? I'm pretty that is what is going on in this video, except he's using Ableton so I'm sort of lost on how to set it up: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u_UsAtiHrAg

I have Cthulhu on an instrument track, and I am able to see the meter triggering on the track but the Prophet 5 is not outputting any sound (I have its audio out going through my monitors/interface separately). I tried playing with various I/O configurations in the DAW but bottom line I have no idea what I'm doing. Do I need to set up a separate instrument track and somehow put the Prophet on there as an external MIDI device?

For reference: I have setup the Prophet 5 in my MIDI studio and in the peripherals MIDI controllers tab set up Prophet5 > Cthulhu plugin AND a second Cthulhu plugin > Prophet 5 (I'm assuming this needs to go both ways since I want to trigger notes in real time?)

Sorry this was a jumble of info. Really hoping this is an obvious and easy solution! Thanks in advance!
Old 08-01-2022, 11:20 AM

Default Re: Help using Cthulhu with hardware synth

Hey,

The Cthulu manual is not really helpful since it doesn't even MENTION the aax version.

Here's how I set it up: