Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 02-18-2012, 07:03 PM

Default Switching protools from system disk to external hard drive -- need basic instruction

I've been using ProTools LE with an Mbox for a few years, recently got a new computer and installed v. 8.04 on my system disk -- I know, not recommended, and now that the internal hard drive is starting to get crowded I'm seeing why. I've saved up to buy a 2T external hard drive, and will be switching all my recording to that (and upgrading to v. 8.05). Does anybody know of a basic step-by-step instruction for doing this? For example, should I uninstall PT from my computer then reinstall on the hard drive? Or can I just drag and drop the folders? etc. -- I'm not even sure what questions to ask.
Old 02-18-2012, 07:32 PM

Default Re: Switching protools from system disk to external hard drive -- need basic instruct

I'm afraid you got some bad information...

Actually, the Pro Tools program should be installed on your system disk.

It is the Pro Tools sessions you create that should be installed on a drive other than your system drive.

As far as existing sessions go, you can just move the folders to your new drive. It's been a while since I did that, but IIRC, when you first open an existing session, Pro Tools will want you to point all audio files to their new location. Perhaps someone who has recently moved some sessions can chime in with any corrections...