Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-09-2007, 07:31 PM
Xspringe Xspringe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
Default Switching to Pro Tools?

Hello everyone!

I recently watched the videos on the elastic time functionality in pro tools 7.4. I was completely blown away as it is precisely what I'm looking for. I currently use Ableton Live 6 and Sonar 7. Live is great but it lacks functionality when it comes to recording. Sonar 7 is decent but I cannot for the life of me get it to work properly with my Virus Ti synth (it's driving me bonkers). I was considering Cubase 4.1, but Pro Tools 7.4 impressed me a great deal.

My hardware setup is as follows:
Intel Q6600
Asus P5K
2 GB RAM
7200 RPM HD
RME FF800

I hope people on the board here would be kind enough to help me answer a few questions while I research pro tools.

1) What are the most important Pro Tools LE limitations you run into? I could probably live with the 32 track limit, but are there any other major restrictions?
2) Does Pro Tools LE work properly with the Virus Ti?
3) Is my hardware setup good enough to run Pro Tools LE properly?
4) What would be the most efficient way to switch to Pro Tools LE from my current setup? I've considered replacing the FF800 with the 003 Rack, but that would mean that, even though I get access to the pro tools software, I would also downgrade my hardware because as far as I know the AD/DA and wordclock of the 003 aren't as good as those in the FF800. On the other hand, shelling out >6k USD for a Pro Tools HD system just to get access to the Pro Tools software seems a bit steep. If only I could purchase something like an Apogee Ensemble and be able to run Pro Tools LE on that....
5) Is elastic time really as impressive as can be seen in the videos? Or are you running into some issues not shown in the videos?

Thanks in advance for your feedback.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-10-2007, 11:24 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,276
Default Re: Switching to Pro Tools?

My 2 cents, grab a DIGI 003rack and add a second hard drive to your computer.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-11-2007, 07:02 AM
cdxpat cdxpat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 60
Default Re: Switching to Pro Tools?

Oddly i'm switching the other way - got tired of waiting for Vista support and Cakewalks cross grade offer to the producer version of Sonar seemed too good to miss.

1) What are the most important Pro Tools LE limitations you run into? I could probably live with the 32 track limit, but are there any other major restrictions?

Tied to hardware
Limited features ( everything is extra)
Fussy on platforms
No native VST support although you can buy some extra software to get around this.
Limited plug in support for RTAS and they are always more expensive. High quality though.
Slow to fix stuff - and often re-introduce bugs they've already fixed.
LE tends to be bottom of the pile for support.
Security (reloads upgrades) can be fussy although they seem to have made it less so.

2) Does Pro Tools LE work properly with the Virus Ti?
Dont know - test before you buy.

3) Is my hardware setup good enough to run Pro Tools LE properly?
Pro-tools is very platform sensitive. Once working especially in the 7.3 variant it seems pretty robust and on a dual core platform the performance was good. But it takes a while to get there - or at least it always did with me. Dedicated PC was always the mantra here. Again it used to be a lot more fussy so maybe 7.4 will be great.


4) What would be the most efficient way to switch to Pro Tools LE from my current setup? I've considered replacing the FF800 with the 003 Rack, but that would mean that, even though I get access to the pro tools software, I would also downgrade my hardware because as far as I know the AD/DA and wordclock of the 003 aren't as good as those in the FF800. On the other hand, shelling out >6k USD for a Pro Tools HD system just to get access to the Pro Tools software seems a bit steep. If only I could purchase something like an Apogee Ensemble and be able to run Pro Tools LE on that....

Just remember the -003 becomes a very expensive audio interface if you decide to switch away from pro-tools because you cant use it as a mix desk for anything else. . I have an -002 in the same situation. I'd try and get a test version from a friendly dealer if you can and see whether what you get outweighs what you lose. Or you can buy my 002


5) Is elastic time really as impressive as can be seen in the videos? Or are you running into some issues not shown in the videos?

I'm curious to know that too. Doesnt the Roland V-vocal do most of that that for you in Sonar ? What would you say the issues are with Sonar ?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Considering Switching to Pro Tools 10 visionstudios Pro Tools 10 17 04-16-2012 06:59 AM
Switching to Pro Tools??? funkhaus General Discussion 12 05-16-2008 08:34 AM
Switching Pro Tools to Different Drive Flan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 05-08-2008 01:19 AM
Switching Computers - Can Pro Tools LE Come With Me? Kylearan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-10-2008 10:46 PM
switching tools uno1234 ICON & C|24 0 01-07-2008 04:48 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:25 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com