Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-21-2009, 10:18 AM
Boombatty's Avatar
Boombatty Boombatty is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Lucan, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 142
Default 10 MBox 2s in school, 5 work, 5 don't

Well after a lot of troubleshooting, reinstalls, firmware updates and attempted firmware updates, here I am.

I teach a high school audio program where we use MacBooks and Pro Tools (we also have a Power Mac and a Mac Pro and a couple 002s). My issue relates to our 10 MBox 2s:

These are MBox 2 Academic versions (for use with LE software) running Pro Tools 8.0.x.various CS versions on OSX 10.5.7, 2.1GHz Core 2 Duo, 1GB ram off the internal HDD (yes I know that's bad).

Out of our computers, they all work with 5 of our MBox 2s. The other 5 MBox 2s will work with GarageBand, iTunes, general OS sounds, etc. but NOT with Pro Tools. Pro Tools gives the "Unable to locate hardware" spiel on launching. Further, the 1.43 intel firmware update will also not work on these MBox 2s but will work on the first 5.

So I'm a little lost at how I can fix this problem when the same computer runs the program fine, and all 10 computers exhibit the same problem with the second group of 5 MBox 2s. All 10 were bulk ordered for an educational discount, though it was over a year ago and I've only finally gotten around to troubleshooting this problem more in depth, so warranty is out.

Any ideas??

Thanks,
Matt
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-21-2009, 10:44 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,806
Default Re: 10 MBox 2s in school, 5 work, 5 don't

You should contact Tech Support by phone - most likely those EDU Mbox 2's are in need of a firmware flash or possibly replacement. They can get you sorted.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old School Studio "work" flow chart from Tape Op's facebook page Craig F General Discussion 0 01-08-2013 08:21 PM
old school mBox, brand new iMac... HELP! Bicycle Lee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 12-12-2010 08:00 PM
Did school just get out?? dougied 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 21 05-06-2009 05:43 PM
Old School Mbox and Macbook Pro soundboy35 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 16 02-16-2009 05:39 PM
School spacemanmatt General Discussion 8 02-12-2004 02:32 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:04 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com