Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-10-2007, 07:55 PM
jandue jandue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 90
Default Spotlight and Dashboard

Hello!

Just wondered if anybody out there actually disabled those apps.
And, if so, to what benefit?

Tried to disable Spotlight. The link Digi provides, to do it automatically, does not exist.
Couldn´t make it work manually, either.

I´m not too happy with the performance of PTLE (iMac, MacBook, 2 Ghz intel core2duo, and PM dp 2Ghz, 2 GB Ram, all)
Just trying!

JanD
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-11-2007, 07:09 AM
Phil Ogden Phil Ogden is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,109
Default Re: Spotlight and Dashboard

I've disabled Dashboard as I never used it and, whilst I cannot quantify any performance improvement, PT did seem to run a little better. I figured that shutting-down any background tasks can only help performance.

Additionally, if I recall correctly, it also frees-up F12 for use as a trigger for starting recording on armed tracks.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-12-2007, 02:42 AM
joey santos joey santos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Makati City, Philippines
Posts: 58
Default Re: Spotlight and Dashboard

I thought the only purpose of disabling spotlight and dashboard is because of two similar shortcut keys with protools namely f9 and apple+spacebar.

aside from that, the system is functions the same way.

We still use spotlight and dashboard but assigned the identical command key to a diff. key.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-12-2007, 05:34 AM
mindnoise mindnoise is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Germany and Tokyo
Posts: 3,094
Default Re: Spotlight and Dashboard

Hi,


in the the Troubleshooting thread are guides how to turn Dashbard and Spotlight off, safely.

regs
__________________
last: PT11.3.1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
7.4.2 - disable Spotlight and Dashboard? Bryan Talbot Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 07-05-2008 10:58 AM
re-mapping Spotlight and Dashboard for ProTools 7.4 Sharabelle Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 02-17-2008 09:33 AM
Remapping "Spotlight" & "Dashboard" Kian 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-13-2006 12:37 PM
disabling dashboard and spotlight key maps?? rozak 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 12-22-2005 04:49 PM
spotlight and dashboard, turn them off? how? crizdee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 10-21-2005 03:26 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:27 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com